SNAFU Live Nottingham 1976

SNAFU Live Nottingham 1976 Angel Air www.angelair.co.uk [Release date 04.08.17]

Snafu featured vocalist Bobby Harrison and guitarist Micky Moody amongst their ranks, although Micky Moody left the band shortly after the tour this gig was recorded from and joined Whitesnake.

It is a short set, only six songs, yet you get a good feel and sound of the band as they play blues rock set of covers and their own songs. Highlights include the slow blues burner ‘Every Little Bit Counts’ which highlights Bobby Harrison’s emotive singing and the rocking ‘Highway’, where Micky Moody plays up a storm.

The other four songs on here are from the short lived band Niagra which Bobby Harrison formed after Snafu ended. They are recorded from a Tommy Vance ‘Rock Show’ off BBC Radio 1 and the sound quality is very poor as it is lifted from cassette. That said, the songs take a more straight ahead commercial hard rock approach than Snafu and it is a shame that better quality recordings don’t exist.

One for collectors of 70′s blues rock and Snafu fans. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie


BELL XI Arms [Release date 21.07.17]

Bell XI received critical acclaim for their previous album ‘Chop Chop’, topping the Irish album charts. On this album they continue their mix of indie pop with ambient/prog overtones and with songs like ‘Bring Me A Fireking’ and ‘Fail Again, Fail Better’, that mix a belting pop melody with some electronic effects, you can see why they are so popular. ‘Take Your Sweet Time’ sees the band veer off into ambient prog, something they do with ease.

Bell XI will again be topping their native Ireland’s charts and rightly so, plus its about time the rest of the wold caught up with them. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


ADRENALINE MOB We Are The People Century Media [Release date 02.06.17]

Adrenaline Mob are back with album number three and a new bass player David Zablidowsky dnd drummer David “Dave Z” Zablidowsky (TSO). Now I love Russell Allen’s singing on Symphony X and Allen/Lande (how about a new album from this duo?), but Adrenaline Mob are just very ‘samey’ nu metal – think Disturbed without the memorable songs. There is a token ballad ‘Blind Leading The Blind’, but again you struggle to remember much about the song after listening to it. Plus why the very average cover of ‘Rebel Yell’ by Billy Idol?

Allen’s vocal is one of the best currently in rock and metal circles, however his talent is just seems wasted on an album of, at best, average metal songs. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


Traaxx Music [Release date 21.07.17]

Duane Forrest is a well travelled fellow having lived previously in Mexico, Puerto Rico and now he currently resides in Toronto, Canada. He also founded a non-profit charity called Genesis Community of the Arts, which helps fund equipment for teachers in music and arts in marginalized communities.

Musically he is very laid back in his singing and musical vibe, not dissimilar at times to Jack Johnson. Listening to ‘Edge of the of the Sea’ and ‘Oceans’ you can almost imagine and hear the sea as you lie on the beach. That’s not belittling the music in anyway, more that if you get into the songs and loose yourself in them you feel relaxed and happier. His guitar playing is exquisite, gentle on the strings and a delight to hear – ’1 Night Stand’ ably illustrates this.

Like a relaxing break, Duane Forrest’s songs help you unwind and go perfectly with a sunny day. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply