Album review: ROSE TATTOO – Tatts Live In Brunswick 1982

ROSE TATTOO - Tatts Live In Brunswick 1982

Golden Robot [Release date 24.11.17]

Classic Australian hard rock band synonymous with the shaven headed frontman Angry Anderson and a tattoo or two, as well as a few AC/DC connections, Rose Tattoo were formed in the mid 70s and took AC/DC’s blues rock to a whole new level.

With a frequently rotating line-up (leaving, rejoining, reformations, and six former members have died along the way), the original sound had such a ‘street’ edge it was almost punk, but the blues, boogie and slide guitar were all turned up to 11. The band featured former members of Buffalo and Buster Brown, and the first four albums were produced by Vanda & Young, the team responsible for the early AC/DC albums.

Recorded around the time of the release of their third album Scarred For Life in 1982, the band featured vocalist Angry Anderson, guitarists Pete Wells and Rob Riley, bassist Geordie Leach and drummer Dallas ‘Digger’ Royall.

The album, it sounds like a club recording, opens with the solid Out Of This Place, it’s raw and energetic from the outset. Bad Boy For Love is another chunky number, this one as a strong AC/DC edge, only much more earthy. Assault And Battery, the title track to their second album, and it all kicks off in blistering fashion, frenetic slide and street level lyrics, a track that (in whatever form) screams to be heard.

The Butcher And Fast Eddie, running to over seven minutes, is a slower and bluesier number, and the riff to Rock’n’Roll Is King is just wonderful.

The set is full of rock’n’roll, tracks fast and slow and many a classic across the 14 tracks.

Despite the Official Bootleg sound (and feel, the minimalist 2 page booklet has a few paras from Angry Anderson, an RIP list of those who have passed, no sleevenotes), it’s a fantastic listen and verging on essential listen. But SO much more could have been made of the packaging and release. ***1/2

Review by Joe Geesin

On 16 December, David Randall presented a two hour special on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio reflecting the reviewer and popular choices for “Best of 2018″

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 21 January 2019

GUN RUNNERS Bleed (indie)
PUPPET KINGS Age Of Austerity (indie)
MATT MITCHELL & THE COLD HEARTS Black Diamonds (indie)
GIN ANNIE Damage Is Done (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
ELECTRIC MARY The Way You Make Me Feel (Listenable Records)
CATS IN SPACE Thunder In the Night (Harmony Factory)

Featured Albums w/c 21 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 WAKE THE NATIONS Heartrock (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLOOD RED SAINTS Pulse (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 FERNANDO PERDOMO Zebra Crossing (2018)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

LUCID FLY Building Castles In Air (2016)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply