Album review: THE INNOCENTS – Teardrop Kiss

THE INNOCENTS - Teardrop Kiss

Public Records [Release date 02.04.18]

Tasmania’s The Innocents have previous form.  In their original guise of Beathoven, they released one of the finest (and obscure) slices of 1970s power pop in ‘Please Don’t Go’ – check it out on YouTube if you don’t believe me!

The Innocents enjoyed some minor success in the early 1980s, notably with ‘Sooner or Later’ which became a hit in Australia.  They split soon after, but after reforming in the early 2000s a limited edition CD compilation of their back catalogue No Hit Wonders From Down Under quickly sold out.

Now they are back with new album Teardrop Kiss, with all but one of the 13 songs written by founder member Charles Touber.

Catchy opener ‘Every Moment Matters’ sets the tone, oozing positive vibes and jangly guitars.  Producer Michael Carpenter, a power pop maestro in his own right, gives it a contemporary sound.  Quirky stormer ‘Change of Scenery’ evokes Jellyfish at their finest, while ‘Waiting’ has a Stonesy swagger and killer chorus.  ‘You’re Not The Man’, penned by Rob Smith, is a harmony-drenched gem.

Existing fans of the band, and the power pop genre, should definitely investigate this improbable but impressive return.  ***1/2

Review by Jim Henderson

Throughout September 2018 Get Ready to ROCK! Radio celebrated the station’s 10th anniversary and a two-hour special reflected a decade of broadcasting. “10 years in the making” features archive interviews with Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Todd Rundgren, Graham Bonnet, David Coverdale, John Wetton and Bob Catley.

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 12 November 2018

STEPHEN PEARCY U Only Live Twice Frontiers)
NORTHWARD Timebomb (Nuclear Blast)
MASON HILL Hold On (indie)
RAINLIGHT Field Of Souls (indie)
EDEN’S CURSE Forever (AFM Records)

Featured Albums w/c 12 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 TEN Illuminati (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 NORDIC UNION Second Coming (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 LARKIN POE Venom & Faith (Proper Music)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

18:00-19:00 MAGGIE REILLY Heaven Sent (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply