Album review: ANGRA – Ømni

ANGRA - Ømni

earMUSIC [Release date: 16.02.18]

Despite releasing eight albums since 1991, Brazilian band Angra’s symphonic/prog metal is a new sonic experience for me. Ninth album ‘Ømni’ is for the most part a pretty impressive outing within the genre.

The album holds absolutely nothing back in terms of performance and production values. From the opening lead guitar salvo of ‘Light of Transcendence’ to the closing strings of the instrumental ‘Ømni – Infinite Nothing’, Angra chuck the kitchen sink at the project.

Highly technical arrangements are interspersed with symphonic interludes, sweeping backing vocals and musical versality. The mix of classical, rock, prog, moments of thrash and splashes of Latin music creates an ambitious soundscape.

Sometimes the influences come together in sublime passages, such as on the ballads ‘The Bottom Of My Soul’ and the blues-tinged ‘Always More’. The classy ‘Magic Mirror’ is also a highlight. ‘Caveman’ has South American rhythms and chants to the fore against a catchy keyboard and guitar refrain.

Sometimes the cocktail work less well. ‘Black Widow’s Web’ is not an easy listen and has the most unconvincing death growl vocal I have ever heard! And parts of ‘Insatia’ sound a bit too much like the chorus line of an amateur dramatic society.

The album finishes well with a pair of good quality prog ensembles with some fine guitar moments: ‘Ømni – Silence inside’ and the portentous ‘Ømni – Infinite Nothing’.

Founded by guitarist Rafael Bittencourt, the rest of the band comprsises Felipe Andreoli (bass), Fabio Lione (vocals), Marcelo Barbosa (guitar) and Bruno Valverde (drums). The album was recorded in Sweden with Jens Bogren, who also produced the previous album ‘Secret Garden’.

The team has combined to produce an album that is well played and sounds bright throughout. The theatrical vocals are not to my taste, but there is nothing wrong with the technique, phrasing, commitment or power on display. And a word for Valverde’s epic  drumming which is nothing short ferocious on every single track.

There is plenty to enjoy here and the album should go down well with fans of the genre. Check out their live show at the Borderline on 17th April.  ***½

Review by Dave Atkinson

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk (Sunday 27 June )

Check out full video

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 11 July 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 13 July 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at

Featured Albums w/c 26 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NITRATE Renegade (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 LEE AARON Radio On! (Metalville)
14:00-16:00 THE IMMEDIATE FAMILY (indie)

Power Plays w/c 26 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

GRAVITY MACHINE It’s Summer (Zyse Records)
ANARIA Journeys Do Not End (indie)
SNAKE BITE WHISKY Choke (Sliptrick Records)
KI-JUNG Crystal Light (indie)
CONTROLLER Skyline (Curtain Call Records)
TITO JACKSON Under Your Spell (Gulf Coast/Hillside)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply