THE JADE ASSEMBLY Nothing Changes [Release date 04.05.18]

The Jade Assembly are a four piece hailing from Bolton consisting of John Foster (vocals & guitar), Gareth Smedley (lead guitar), Andy Watson (drums)  and Danny Hayes (bass). They have been creating a bit of a stir in the north west (with fans including the current Mayor of Manchester!) and their new song ‘Nothing Changes’ is a proper guitar led anthem with an impassioned vocal from John Foster. Modern rock with a decent bit of guitar and melody. More of this please! ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

THE ELATION Click Bait [Release date 01.06.18]

The Elation hail from Cork, Ireland and this is a four song EP, drawing together songs they have been working on and released since 2017. They may be a little too poppy/dance orientated for some rock fans, however listen carefully and you can hear their musical influences come through, be it a U2 approved guitar on ‘Catch’ or the funky RHCP start to ‘XO’. They will certainly appeal to fans of latter day Fall Out Boy and Panic! At The Disco, plus the dance beats and soothing vocals will prove a hit with a younger crowd. No denying though that the Elation have the songs and talent to impress. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

GAINSTRIVE Anywhere But Here EP

Philadelphia-based indie alt-rock outfit Gainstrive follow up their 2016 debut album, Temporary Decay, with this self-produced five track EP.

The opener – ‘Begin Again’ – is well thought out, constructed and delivered – a punchy number with choppy, almost funky eighties style riff, underscored with some typically proggy guitar/keys, overlaid with Kate Walk’s captivating vocals and some breezy lead guitar lines from David Fioravanti.

That encouraging start continues with ‘My Design’ – similarly styled, radio friendly, top down, listening, with Walk’s vocals reminiscent of the late Dolores O’Riordan.  But thereafter the set becomes somewhat overly busy and less focused, running out of direction, if not steam.   But the potential is plain to hear.  Ones to watch.  ***

Review by Pete Whalley

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 24 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply