Album review: JOSH TAERK – Beautiful Tragedy

JOSH TAERK - Beautiful Tragedy

Misty Creek Records [Release date 28.09.18]

Josh Taerk returns with a new album his first since 2015′s ‘Here’s To Change’, although four of the songs on here were on last year’s ‘Stages’ EP. Teddy Morgan (Kevin Costner and Modern West, Carl Broemel) produces again, with Josh co-producing on three songs. It is a bit of a family affair at times with Ryan and Matt Taerk contributing backing vocals.

Opening with the catchy refrain of the title track, the eight songs on here are amongst his best work to date. For gentler, reflective tunes look no further than ‘Anywhere Love Took Us’ or ‘After The Fall’ – a song that is made for a film soundtrack, particularly with the strings backing and big production sound. Speaking of production, the musicianship on here is top draw, be it the organ and drums on ‘Beauty Queen’ or the sublime guitar solo on the country flavoured ’Neverland’.

‘Midnight Mustang’ shows off the rockier end of his work, as Josh himself says ‘I’ve never fit into just one category, I’m influenced and inspired by a lot of different elements’. That is one good selling point if you like that he doesn’t stick to one style or genre of music.

Josh Taerk successfully melds a memorable melody for those who love a great hook, along with thought provoking lyrics for those who like a little substance to their musical listening.

On this album Josh carries on honing his songwriting craft and deserves to gain wider recognition with this release, damn near perfect pop/rock meets country. ****1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Throughout September 2018 Get Ready to ROCK! Radio celebrated the station’s 10th anniversary and a two-hour special reflected a decade of broadcasting. “10 years in the making” features archive interviews with Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Todd Rundgren, Graham Bonnet, David Coverdale, John Wetton and Bob Catley.

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 3 December 2018

We play Top Albums and Live Acts as selected by the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 3 December (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock – featured in 2018
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock – featured in 2018
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter – featured in 2018

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

18:00-19:00 ANETTE OLZON Shine (2014)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply