Album review: BIRDSONG AT MORNING – Signs And Wonders


Blue Gentian Records [Release date 22.08.18]

‘Signs And Wonders’ is a remarkably ambitious album from a band based around singer/songwriter/vocalist Alan Williams.  But then this is a band that released a 4-CD box set debut in 2011.  This time the basic band – Williams with Darleen Wilson (guitar) and Greg Porter (bass) – are augmented by a 20-piece orchestra led by Mimi Rabson.

Williams and Porter formed the band in 2008 after both had attended New England Conservatory of Music.  Both have an interesting pedigree, with Porter having played in Aimee Mann and Patty Griffin’s band whilst Williams is Chair of the Department of Music at Massachusetts University Lowell.

The gorgeous opener ‘Waterfall’ perfectly sets the scene,  acoustic-driven with splendid string accompaniment and topped off with Thomas Juliano’s impressive guitar figures.  It brings to mind the sort of West Coast American vibe pioneered by the likes of the Asylum label in the 1970s and repeated on ‘Smiles Of A Summer Night’.

At times ‘Signs And Wonders’ evokes Marillion/Hogarth at their acoustic best – with shades on the title track (‘Afraid Of Sunrise’, anyone?) and a definite shadow on ‘All Sadness To Come’, with a shimmering orchestral mid-section, and again on ‘Arms Around Me’.

With an over-arching theme of finding beauty in unexpected places, the album also pays homage to Supertramp with a slowed-down adaption of their ‘Logical Song’.

In truth Birdsong At Morning don’t need covers; their own material does very nicely, thank you.  And their ambitious project even stretches to a bonus blu-ray disc featuring 5.1 mixes.  But this isn’t enough, you’ll end up wanting to explore their previous output.  For now, this is a very fine introduction and one of the year’s more compelling packages.  ****1/2

Review by David Randall

David Randall presents ‘Assume The Position’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio every Sunday at 22:00 GMT.

The Best of 2018

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 1 August 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week and an interview with “metal queen” Lee Aaron.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 August 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at

Featured Albums w/c 6 September 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 PETER H.NILSSON Sign Of Myself (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 M.ILL.ION Back On Track (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 THREE COLOURS DARK Love’s Lost Property (Firefly Music)

Power Plays w/c 6 September 2021 (Mon-Fri)

MASON HILL Broken Son (7Hz Productions)
FERAL GHOST The Chosen Few (indie)
THE CROOKS Better Days (Golden Robot)
KRIS BARRAS BAND Dead Horses (Mascot)
SHADER Blackholes (indie)
ANYTHING BUT HUMAN Tonight (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply