KRP (KEITH REID PROJECT) In My Head Rockville [Release date 07.12.18]

It has been ten year’s since former Procol Harum (he wasn’t involved in the band’s ‘Novum’ album released last year) member Keith Reid released the first Keith Reid Project album, ‘The Common Thread’. On this new album he again utilises a number of guest vocalists to bring the songs to life, co-written with amongst others John Waite and Steve Booker (who has written songs for Duffy, Melisa Etheridge and more).

Maya Saxell is the find of the album, whether it be her heartfelt vocal on ‘This Space Is Vacant’, about a homeless person the song’s main character sees everyday until one day they have gone, or the mellow ‘Back From The Brink’.

There is a variety of musical styles on here, be it the funky/soul ‘Bank Of Worry’, or John Waite on the ballad ‘All I Need To Know’. Waite still has his distinctive vocal intact and this song fits his vocal style perfectly. ‘In My Head’ has a nice dig at growing old, with the great line ‘In my head I’m Lemmy, In her head I am half dead’.

A lot of time and effort has gone into creating these songs and one can only hope it gets the chance it deserves out there in the crowded music place. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


CHRIS POPE & THE CHORDS UK Nowhere Land [Release date 21.09.18]

Second album from Chris Pope & the Chords UK following on from 2016′s ‘Take On Life’. The original Chords had a brief flurry of success between 1979 and 1981, riding on the wave of the mod revival and this version retains only Chris Pope from those days. Other band members from that time are busy with other musical endeavours.

On ‘Nowhere Land’ Chris Pope tackles modern life, be it a snipe at hipsters in ‘Hipsters Of London’ or the more autobiographical ‘Lived To Tell The Tale’, showing that despite all the crap that can go on in the music industry, Chris Pope is still making music he wants to.

Those who enjoyed the first Chris Pope & the Chords UK offering will like ’Nowhere Land’. Chris Pope has a knack of writing pop rock songs that have a pleasant melody often wrapped around barbed lyrics. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

THE BUZNIKS 3Ms Music [Release date 17.11.18]

The Buzniks formed in 2017 and are based around former Squeeze bass player John Bentley, who switches to guitar in the Buzniks, as well as handling vocals. He is joined by Frankie Dann (drums, vocals), Alan Betts (bass, vocals) and Brian Hartley (guitar, harmonica, slide guitar, vocals).

They take aim at a variety of subjects including identity theft (the creepy ‘About You’) and mix it up musically, with driving rock ‘n’ roll on ‘Rockababy’ and show their collective musical chops on the instrumental ‘Gymnopedie No.1′.

An enjoyable album and like the Chris Pope one reviewed above, an album I am sure will appeal more over time and repeated listens. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

SILVER DUST House 21 Fastball Music [Release date 05.10.18]

Silver Dust have produced a concept album based on an idea by vocalist Lord Campbell. It is a musically mixed bag, one minute pounding metal with growl vocals on ‘The Calling’, then a touch of dance keys on the aptly titled ‘The Witches Dance’. Heck they even do a cover of the Kim Carnes hit ‘Bette Davis Eyes’ with Mr Lordi guesting.

It isn’t bad in parts, however Lord Campbell’s vocals take some getting used to – his gothic mode sounds out of tune at times, whilst his higher range singing is very good indeed.

Full marks for going for a horror/gothic album, sadly let down a little by the vocals and at times some of the songs. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

CTP (CHRISTIAN TOLLE PROJECT) Point Blank Fastball Music [Release date 26.10.18]

Fifth album from the Christian Tolle Project (CTP), formed around guitarist Christian Tolle. He employs a number of guests including guitarists Doug Aldrich and vocalists David Reece (ex-Accept) and John Cuijpers (Praying Mantis).

The last CTP album ‘Now & Then’ had plenty of good quality melodic hard rock on offer and ‘Point Blank’ offers more of the same. David Reece rocks like a good ‘un on ‘Borderland’ whilst John Cuijpers has fun on the Russ Ballard penned ‘Since You’ve Been Gone’, which Rainbow had a hit with. Another cover on the album is Billy Squier’s ‘Lonely Is The Night’, not an obvious cover and John Cuijpers again takes the mic for this one.

‘Point Blank’ offers more well played melodic rock complete with plenty of tasty guitar solos. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 24 January, 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

More about Josh: http://getreadytorock.me.uk/blog/?s=%22Josh+Taerk%22

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 ART OF ILLUSION X Marks The Spot (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE DEAD DAISIES Holy Ground (SPV)
14:00-16:00 TED & MAJELLA Divine Timing (indie)

Power Plays w/c 25 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

THE WEDDING PRESENT We Should Be Together (Scopitones)
MIDNITE CITY Crawlin’ In The Dirt (Roulette Media)
JOSEPH WILLIAMS Never Saw You Coming (Mascot)
ALEX JAMES BRIERLEY Go With The Flow (indie)
THE UNDERCLASS The One (indie)
MASON HILL DNA (7Hz Recordings)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply