SNAKES IN PARADISE Step Into The Light Frontiers [Release date 14.09.18]

Sweden’s Snakes in Paradise have released latest album “Step Into The Light”, a melodic affair that will no doubt please fans of hook and melody. The band themselves have been releasing albums since 1993 and this is a slick and well written album, however, (and remember that this is just one man’s opinion here) for me it just feels a tad safe and maybe even samey.

Now, bearing in mind my last comment, when the band are firing there are similarities to Boston, with keyboards and guitars working together nicely, “Silent Sky”, “Things”, “Liza”, or the albums heaviest track “If Ever I See The Sun Again” are all great examples of this.

The vocals from Stefan Berggren have a bluesy edge to them, and he is also responsible for the keyboards throughout the album. There is a ballad in “Angelin” and the harmonies and guitar on this are a good of example of melodic rock done well. The more upbeat pace of “Living Without Your Love” is another track to check out.

All in all, “Step Into The Light” is an album that will please the ears of a lot of AOR and melodic hard rock fans, but for me there is just something missing. ***

Review by Nikk Gunns

BILLY IDOL Vital Idol: Revitalized

BILLY IDOL Vital Idol: Revitalized EMI/UMC [Release date 28.09.18]

The original ‘Vital Idol’ was released back in 1985 containing Billy Idol’s biggest hits remixed and with platinum discs achieved in both the UK and US, it certainly proved a hit with the listening public. Now some thirty years later we have those songs plus others remixed by the likes of Paul Oakenfold, Moby and the Crystal Method.

‘Dancing With Myself’ still keeps the original Steve Stevens guitar riffs, although the dance beats added by RAC (there is no AA remix to be seen elsewhere…) do take over the song. Moby’s remix of ‘(Do Not) Stand In The Shadows’ is top draw as you’d expect and the Crystal Method spin on ‘Rebel Yell’ is another highlight. The overtly dance flavoured ‘One Breath Away’ may be a step too far for some fans though.

Not to be outdone Billy Idol and Steve Stevens have a go in the remix studio with ‘Mony Mony’ (adding lots of expletives for some reason), one of four songs only available on the digital release. Based on this effort I’d say they are best writing songs and leaving remixing to others…

Unlikely to reach the giddy sales heights of ‘Vital Idol’, however it should find a whole new audience for Billy Idol’s music due to the remixers involved on here. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


THE JOY FORMIDABLE Aaarth [Release date 28.09.18]

Fourth album by the Joy Formidable who have been around since 2007, with the line-up consisting of Ritzy (vocals/guitars), Rhydian (bass) and Matt (drums).

They play a mix of dreamy electronica mixed with guitar on ‘Absence’, along with moments of prog a la Pure Reason Revolution on ‘Y Bluen Eira’. They also have a neat line in catchy pop as ‘The Wrong Side’ ably demonstrates. In fact you need to give this album a few listens to fully appreciate it, a classic ‘grower’ of an album. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply