Album review: HELEN ROSE – Trouble Holding Back

HELEN ROSE - Trouble Holding Back

Monkey Room Music [Release date 21.01.19]

I’m not sure what I was expecting from this sax toting singer songwriter debut produced by Marvin Etzioni (Lone Justice bassist and a founder member).  Perhaps, a cross between Maria McKee and Rindy Ross (Quarterflash)?

Sadly, no.  Helen Rose has a great voice, and Trouble Holding Back is beautiful sounding record – particularly on a decent hi-fi set up, but it’s a very rootsy part blues, part country album.

With influences from New Orleans to Nashville,  it opens with ‘Love & Whiskey’ – an  R&B boogie with Rose’s dirty Clarence Clemence like sax giving it a seventies Linda Ronstadt vibe, while a deliberately a Bobbie Gentry/Ode To Billy Joe groove is applied to strip-mining inspired ‘Flatlands Of North Dakota’.

Iconic imagery abounds – a stripped back cover of ‘When The Levee Breaks’, the beguiling ‘Mississippi Moon’, the poignant piano/vocals minimalist’ The Mountain’, and the Rickie Lee Jones style cover of John Coltrane’s ‘On The Jukebox’.

Interestingly, the credits reveal that Etzioni – who also plays mandolin – features far more prominently than Rose in the songwriting with two self-penned originals, and a hand in five others.  In contrast Rose co-writes on just four of the latter, with two covers (‘When The Levee Breaks’, and ‘The Mountain’ (Steve Earle)) making up the remainder of the ten track set.

‘Oh Glory B’e [naturally] adds a layer of gospel with a hook that pays tribute to Creedence Clearwater, the soulful ‘A Dangerous Tender Man’ is Isaac Hayes-inspired, and the evocative set closer ‘Love On Arrival’ features just Etzioni on a kickboard and Telecaster with Rose on vocals and sax.

There’s some powerful, classy, performances here, but from a broader appeal perspective the material errs on the roots side of the crossover line, making it one for those with a predilection for the blues.   ***1/2

Review by Pete Whalley

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 11 November (Mon-Fri)

THE FARGO RAILROAD COMPANY Something In The Water (indie)
THE DARK ELEMENT If I Had A Heart (Frontiers)
LIBERTY LIES A Thousand People (indie)
DIRTY SHIRLEY Here Comes The King (Frontiers)
CARRY THE CROWN Runaway (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 11 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 WORK OF ART Exhibits (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SIGN X Like A Fire (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 JACK BROADBENT Moonshine Blue (Creature Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply