Album review: KANE ROBERTS – The New Normal

KANE ROBERTS - The New Normal

Frontiers [Release date 25.01.19]

Guitarist Kane Roberts – who first came to light as part of Alice Cooper’s band in the mid-80s – returns with a new solo album and one that is certainly a mixed musical bag. The album includes songs penned by Brent Smith (Shinedown) and Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale. In addition there are numerous guest musicians including Winger’s Kip Winger and Paul Taylor, drummer Ken Mary (ex-House Of Lords) – all of whom along with Roberts, appeared on Alice Cooper’s ‘Raise Your Fist And Yell’ album.

The song that will generate the most attention is ‘Beginning Of The End’, which features guest vocalists Alice Cooper and Arch Enemy’s Alissa White-Glu, who gives it some serious growling vocals. This may be a bit too much modern for fans expecting the hard rock of his earlier albums, however fans after such a fix will enjoy ‘King Of The World’ and the slower ‘The Lion’s Share’ (written by Lzzy Hale). Elsewhere there is a touch of Nickelback on the catchy ‘Forever Out Of Place’, one of the songs written by Brent Smith.

Kane Roberts states in the bio he likes to keep moving forward with his music and he certainly has done on ‘The New Normal’. Not sure it will appeal to those who enjoyed his earlier work, however it will be right up the street of Shinedown and Nickelback fans. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 2 September (Mon-Fri)

BAD WOLVES Killing Me Slowly (Eleven Seven Music)
DEEP DEEP WATER Something In The Water (indie)
MICHAEL SCHENKER FEST Sleeping With The Light On (Nuclear Blast)
GHOSTS OF MEN Crooked Back (Regent Street Records)
ANNIE HASLAM Blood And Water (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 2 September (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MICK DEVINE Here Now (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 MOB RULES Beast Over Europe (SPV)
14:00-16:00 THE PORTRAITS For Our Times (indie)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

STACKRIDGE A Victory For Common Sense (2009)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply