Album review: EMPIRE CIRCUS – Ti

Paper Scissors Rock [Release date 01.02.19]

Empire Circus formed in 2012 and released their self-titled debut album the following year. The line-up remains that of Alan Doyle (vocals, guitar), Neil Eurelle (bass, vocals), David Walsh (guitar, keyboards) and Brian Ellis (drums).

After recording ‘High Above this Grey There’s Blue’ during a three day recording stint in Brooklyn in mid-2016, they recorded a further four songs in 2017, of which three make this album and then in the summer of last year they recorded the remaining songs that make up ‘Ti’. It is an album recorded over a number of years and locations, however it all gels together and makes for an impressive listen.

The music is varied, be it the delicious indie pop of ‘Sometimes I Cry’, complete with a neat twangy guitar solo, or the bleaker musical soundscape of ‘Salt’, the album’s lead single. Empire Circus do have quite bleak lyrics at times, however these are always wrapped in strong melodies to sweeten the bitterness. ‘We March Into The Night’ being a case in point, concerning the current state of the world, yet the choral backing and gentle guitar chords add a magical air.

‘Mercy’ is another gentle tune, with wistful backing vocals and a simply gorgeous guitar throughout. When they do songs like this and ‘High Above this Grey There’s Blue’ they really come into their own.

‘High Above this Grey There’s Blue’ is a truly uplifting and moving song, one that personally became a musical support following the death of my dad. A mellow melody that has a gloriously uplifting part midway through.

Empire Circus have produced an album of enyoable and thoughtful, melodic indie pop rock. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Each week David Randall presents ‘New to GRTR!’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, with the emphasis on independent artists and labels. During December he replays favourite tracks including power plays featured during the year. This show covers the period January-March and was first broadcast on 1 December 2019.

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply