Album review: TOBY HITCHCOCK – Reckoning


Frontiers [Release Date 25.01.19]

Best known as the man who brings Jim Peterik’s songs to life in Pride of Lions, this is Toby Hitchcock’s second solo album. His first way back in 2013 was written by the prolific Erik Martensson who guided the singer in a distinctly heavier direction, but for this release a team of current artists and Frontiers labelmates- including rising talents Marcus Nygren of State of Salazar and Mike Palace – have written and performed very much in a mainstream AOR and melodic rock style, paying homage to the influence of Survivor and other similar bands.

While playing it safe the results are extremely well executed. A stirring keyboard intro heralds an anthemic opener in ‘No Surrender’, while the arrangements on ‘Promise Me’- one of three songs by Brighton’s own Steve Newman, which bears some of his writing hallmarks, give his soaring, rich tones more space to shine.

In contrast, ‘Show Me How To Live’, written by the ubiquitous Alessandro Del Vecchio is an emotionally overwrought piano-based ballad that brings out Toby’s theatrical side and it is easy to see him singing on a reality TV show or a movie soundtrack.

The Frontiers production line is such that certain themes get recycled, and I am sure I heard the introductory riff on ‘Behind The Lies’ on last year’s Kryptonite project, but the way Toby spits out the lyrics of a strong chorus with venom compensates as does a mid-song synth solo. That though was nothing compared to the intro to ‘Fighting For My Life’ which is quite simply a classic slice of AOR.

Comparisons come thick and fast with the banked harmony vocals on ‘Queen Untouchable’ calling to mind Journey and ‘Gift of Flight’ sharing the rather overblown lyrics of Jim Peterik himself. There is perhaps a slight dip in quality later on but the smoothness of ‘Don’t Leave’, with Toby’s voice soaring above a chorus vocal and the pure AOR tones of ‘Someone Like You’ also impressed.

This is not an album for those seeking something new and adventurous but for well crafted songs delivered by one of the best voices in the business, it makes for highly enjoyable mainstream listening.  **** 1/2

Review by Andy Nathan

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk (Sunday 27 June )

Check out full video

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 11 July 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 13 July 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at

Featured Albums w/c 26 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NITRATE Renegade (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 LEE AARON Radio On! (Metalville)
14:00-16:00 THE IMMEDIATE FAMILY (indie)

Power Plays w/c 26 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

GRAVITY MACHINE It’s Summer (Zyse Records)
ANARIA Journeys Do Not End (indie)
SNAKE BITE WHISKY Choke (Sliptrick Records)
KI-JUNG Crystal Light (indie)
CONTROLLER Skyline (Curtain Call Records)
TITO JACKSON Under Your Spell (Gulf Coast/Hillside)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply