Album review: THE MUTE GODS – Atheists and Believers

THE MUTE GODS – Atheists and Believers

Inside Out [Release date 22.03.19]

The core line-up of Nick Beggs (vocals, bass) , Roger King (keyboards) and Marco Minnemann (drums) – all three play guitar as well – are joined by guests including Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson, drummer Craig Blundell, Rob Townsend and Nick Beggs’ daughter Lula on vocals. Of the album’s theme Nick Beggs says: “The album’s key message is that we now empower stupid people and don’t listen to educated, informed experts anymore because truth is no longer fashionable.”

One thing that becomes apparent after listening to the album is that it is the most instant of the three albums. Songs like the title track and ‘Knuckleheads’ (no prizes for guessing what this one is about), channel the glorious sounds of XTC, Talking Heads and Tears For Fears. Pop/prog rock that has a beautiful melody to wrap around a meaningful lyric.

‘One Day’ features Alex Lifeson guesting on various guitars, providing one of the album’s many highlights. Another is the instrumental wig out ‘Sonic Boom’, where Beggs’ fellow band mate in the Steven Wilson band Craig Blundell guests on drums. From thundering drum rolls and frantic guitar, to a Police approved reggae breakdown midway through, some jazzy vibes – this tune has it all.

‘Old Men’ and ‘The House Where Love Once Lived’ are tinged with sadness, however the softly melodic vocals of Beggs lift the music into another dimension.

When the Mute Gods were created Beggs stated he envisaged it as three albums and then out. Hopefully given the positive reaction to this album and the previous two, we will see more from the Mute Gods who must certainly have plenty more to say, especially in a fast approaching post-Brexit Europe. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 16 September (Mon-Fri)

BLOCK BUSTER Losing Gravity (Frontiers)
WATCH ME BREATHE Don’t Think I Haven’t Thought About It (The Label Group/INGrooves)
FIRES OF FREYA Take A Bow (indie)
BLACK STAR RIDERS Underneath The Afterglow (Nuclear Blast)
STOMPIN’ HEAT Shiny Curly Red Hair (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 16 September (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 THE DEFIANTS Zokusho (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 CORELEONI II (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 TONY McLOUGHLIN True Native (Fuego)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

BAD COMPANY Company Of Strangers (1995)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply