MERRICK'S TUSK - Between The Earth and The Trees

MERRICK’S TUSK Between The Earth and The Trees Undead Collective Records [Release date 03.05.19]

Although Merrick’s Tusk have been around for the last decade, the band are now releasing their debut album “Between The Earth And The Trees”. With the band labelled as post-hardcore, it would be fair to say that the album is packed with progressive rock style time signatures, heavy riffs and melodic tunes, and that it follows the musical pattern of their earlier EP releases.

The album’s first single (complete with live video), “Hold The Waves” is one of the stand out tracks amongst the twelve on offer. The others include “The Earth”, two lighter, more melodic efforts in “Alternate” and the almost stuttered feel of “Persist”, and the big and slow moving “Never Enough”.

Whilst there may be nothing ground-breaking here, there is also nothing to fault either. Having had a more solid line-up for the last couple of years it now seems like Merrick’s Tusk are able to take advantage of that and move on to the next level, and with the release of “Between The Earth And The Trees” it looks like they have found the springboard to do just that. ***

Review by Nikk Gunns


As soon as the opening, and title track, to The Experimental’s new album “What Do We Want?” started I was immediately hit with the phrase Thin Lizzy meets electro pop meets Scandi rock, this led in turn to the volume being turned right up.

The band are actually British and this rather good album was recorded in Devon and Cornwall, but yet that Scandi sound continues throughout, in particular “Long Time Dead” and “Blacken My Heart” have vocals that remind me of Hardcore Superstar whist the more pop tinged “Million Voices” is reminiscent of Placebo at times.

The album features massive bass and stabs of guitar courtesy of Joe Billingham and Darren Curnow respectively and with drummer Chris Firrell the vocals are shared amongst the band. “What Do We Want?” has a darker, more electronic side in tracks “Sirens” and “Beautiful Horizons” and with its Rage Against The Machine tendencies “Bounce” has the makings of a great live track.

The album’s other stand out tracks are “The Energy” and bass driven “Vultures”, the latter bringing the end to a close. Energetic and upbeat, the album will surely do well for the band and the BBC have already described “Million Voices” as “It’s a corker, crank it”, I would suggest you apply that sentiment to the whole album. ****

Review by Nikk Gunns

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Each week David Randall presents ‘New to GRTR!’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, with the emphasis on independent artists and labels. During December he replays favourite tracks including power plays featured during the year. This show covers the period January-March and was first broadcast on 1 December 2019.

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply