Album review: HEADLINE MANIAC – The Chronicles of Dr. Leddfoot

HEADLINE MANIAC - The Chronicles of Dr. Leddfoot

3MS Music [Release date 12.07.19]

“The Chronicles of Dr. Leddfoot” is the second album from Headline Maniac, the band whose members include Ian “Dipster” Dean, Simon Howley and Chris Taylor of Eddie & The Hot Rods fame. The album tells the tale of a well-respected man with some dark secrets but it is easy to forget the concept side of the story and get lost in the music.

Overall the album has a good 70’s rock feel to it with stabs of keyboard, energetic drums and more than a passing hint of punk to it. Tracks like “Not The One You Want” are reminiscent of the bands day job and “I’ve Got A Thing For You” has a touch of Deep Purple to it but apart from that this is not an album for comparisons.

My favourite tracks of the twelve on offer here are “Outer Space” and “See Your Face Again”, both of which are simple but effective with the latter being repetitive but in a good way. ”Bad Luck Inc”, “Out Of My Head”, “Won’t Forget You” and “High Society” are also right up there.

It will be interesting to see what Headline Maniac do with this live as I guess the whole album will need to be performed and in the order released here. ****

Review by Nikk Gunns

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply