Album review: LEO SAYER – Selfie

LEO SAYER - Selfie

Edsel Records [Release date 26.04.19]

Leo Sayer, is like fellow 70’s and early 80’s singer songwriters Gilbert O’Sullivan, Chris de Burgh and David Essex, a name that can still fill large theatres up and down the UK, despite being under the mainstream musical radar and not chart regulars anymore.

On his latest album ‘Selfie’ Leo Sayer wanted to create an album entirely by himself, as he explains “…it’s been very satisfying. I’ve worked completely in a vacuum, alone in a studio at my new home in Australia, far away from all distractions.”

The only outside help has been a few co-writes on songs with the likes of Albert Hammond and Lee Dagger, who had a no.1 hit with a dance tune based on Leo Sayer’s hit ‘Thunder In My Heart Again’ in 2006.

Leo Sayer has never been shy of tackling current affairs in his songs and ‘Selfie’ continues this with the dance flavoured ‘Occupy’ and a touch of Paul Simon on ‘Refugees’.

One standout after just one play has to be his tribute to Marvin Gaye, Nat King Cole and Aretha Franklin on the suitably soul flavoured ‘Soul Mining’. ‘Save Your Tears’ treads an AOR path, whilst ‘Everybody Lies’ – with its soft jazz shuffle – recalls some of his 70s songs and it also has Leo Sayer doing a guitar solo.

At fifteen songs not all hit the spot like ‘Only Love’, overall though Leo Sayer’s fanbase will enjoy this one and he will surely pick up some new fans with songs like ‘Soul Mining’ and ‘I Am Your Man’. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 13 May (Mon-Fri)

WARM RAIN Here Comes The Rain Again (Rain Recordings)
DARWIN Cosmic Rays (indie)
MICHAEL THOMPSON BAND Love & Beyond (Frontiers)
MARQUIS DRIVE Shine On (indie)
YOUR LIFE & MINE Remind To Remember (indie)
EMERALD SUN What becomes Of You (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 13 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JIM PETERIK WORLD STAGE Winds Of Change (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 WHITESNAKE Flesh & Blood (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BUFORD POPE The Waiting Game (Unchained Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

NEVER THE BRIDE Surprise (2005)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply