Album review: JONES – Carver’s Law

JONES - Carver's Law

Bandcamp [Release date 12.07.19]

Jones is Trevor Jones, principle songwriter with the critically acclaimed duo Miracle Mile, the other half of this duo being arranger and musical partner Marcus Cliffe. Jones has released four solo albums to date, with ‘Carver’s Law’ his fifth solo outing and one that sees him working with the aforementioned Marcus Cliffe again.

The album’s title is inspired by writer Raymond Carver who was determined to use up the best that was in him each day and trust that more would come.

‘Have A Sunset On Me’ is a wonderful song, aided by some beautiful piano and pedal steel guitar from BJ Cole (who sprinkles his magical playing throughout the album). Also worthy of a mention is multi-instrumentalist Gustaf Ljunggren who adds sax, clarinet and flute to the mix.

‘What’ll I Do?’ is a sublime piece of upbeat melodic pop, perfect for radio and given a little push could open up a whole new audience for Trevor Jones. If radio airplay for new music is fast becoming a thing of the past, a song then perfect for playlists. In fact many songs on here have an instant melody giving way to thoughtful and thought provoking lyrics, such as ‘Coleman’s’ and ‘Blackshore’. The latter features the evocative soundscape of ships in a harbour.

The little spoken word vignettes scattered throughout the album highlight his love of words and using them to create pictures in the listener’s mind. In this respect he reminds me of the late, great Jackie Leven.

For too long Jones has remained a listening pleasure for the few, time now for Trevor Jones and his musical partners on this album, to gain the wide success and acclaim ‘Carver’s Law’ deserves. Pour yourself a glass of your favourite drink (or a tea in this teetotal reviewer’s case) and enjoy the magic Jones weaves with words and music. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply