News: Albums of the Month (April 2019 – June 2019)

January-March 2019

July-September 2019

October-December 2019

Erja Lyytinen - Another World

ERJA LYYTINEN Another World (Tuohi Records) [Release Date 26.04.19]

From the tension building intensity and a harmony guitar break of ‘Hard As Stone’ to the gently paced ‘Without You’, with its angst filled and guitar driven finale, ‘Another World’ shows you the many facets of a Finland’s polymath who derives her musical accomplishment from a willingness to experiment.

**** (Review by Pete Feenstra)

REBECCA DOWNES – More Sinner Than Saint

REBECCA DOWNES More Sinner Than Saint (Mad Hat Records) [Release date 24.05.19]

Rebecca Downes has a powerful vocal, which backed by a set of talented musicians and strong songs, should see her gain the wider recognition she deserves.

**** (Review by Jason Ritchie)

Album review: Diamond Head - The Coffin Train

DIAMOND HEAD The Coffin Train Silver Lining Music [Release date: 24.05.19]

This album will be divisive. For die hards, it will be tough to swallow. It is not NWOBHM and it certainly is not the successor to ‘Lightning…’, but taken in its own right, albeit with enough nods to the roots, this is a fine, well crafted and powerful album. Massive respect to Tatler for sticking to his values and finding a contemporary sound to alloy with his metallic instincts.

**** (Review by Dave Atkinson)

Michael Thompson Band- Love-and-Beyond

MICHAEL THOMPSON BAND Love & Beyond (Frontiers) [Release Date 26.04.19]

If you don’t need an instant fix, are drawn to the mellower side of the melodic rock spectrum, and appreciate quality playing and singing, here is your album of the year. 

****1/2 (Review by Andy Nathan)

BIG BIG TRAIN - Grand Tour

BIG BIG TRAIN Grand Tour English Electric [Release date 17.05.19]

Big Big Train have a wonderful knack of not only creating marvellous epic songs, but equally they are masters of producing melodic rock/pop like ‘Alive’. With its train-like rhythm courtesy of a mellotron and upbeat lyrics, it makes it one of the band’s best songs to date. A real ‘pick me up’ song, complete with a 70’s prog feel…Big Big Train inform, educate and entertain on the ‘Grand Tour’, with musical and lyrical treats to be found throughout this magnificent opus. 

****1/2 (Review by Jason Ritchie)

IZZ- Don't Panic

IZZ Don’t Panic (Doone Records) [Release date 21.05.19]

Izz aren’t a band who offer instant fixes, their work requiring the investment of repeated listening to get the very best out of it.  And with a modicum of perseverance, Don’t Panic – which boasts some of the most accomplished playing, and one of finest productions you’ll hear this year – slowly reveals riches that will surely merit an album of the year nomination.

***** (Review by Pete Whalley)

PRINCE - Originals

PRINCE Originals (Warner Bros.) [Release date 21.06.19]

Serving not only as an educational tool, highlighting Prince’s versatility, ‘Originals’ is sequenced like a genuine album and with a little imagination, the listener could almost believe this was an unheard album put together by Prince himself.

**** (Review by Philip Beamon)

January-March 2019

July-September 2019

October-December 2019


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 24 January, 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 ART OF ILLUSION X Marks The Spot (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE DEAD DAISIES Holy Ground (SPV)
14:00-16:00 TED & MAJELLA Divine Timing (indie)

Power Plays w/c 25 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

THE WEDDING PRESENT We Should Be Together (Scopitones)
MIDNITE CITY Crawlin’ In The Dirt (Roulette Media)
JOSEPH WILLIAMS Never Saw You Coming (Mascot)
ALEX JAMES BRIERLEY Go With The Flow (indie)
THE UNDERCLASS The One (indie)
MASON HILL DNA (7Hz Recordings)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in Albums of the Month, All Posts, NEWS and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply