Album review: MORGANWAY – Morganway

MORGANWAY - Morganway

Morganway/UE-Records [Release date 02.08.19]

Morganway were formed in 2016 by brothers Callum (vocals, bass) and Kieran Morgan (lead guitar) along with keyboards player Matt Brocklehurst, who were in turn joined by vocalist SJ Mortimer, fiddle player Nicole J Terry and drummer Ed Bullinger. They have since built a growing reputation for their music and live performances, gaining plaudits along the way from the likes of ‘Whispering’ Bob Harris and nominations at the British Country Music Awards (BCMA).

One band Morganway keep getting compared to is Fleetwood Mac, certainly a big name to live up to and being honest their music has a much more country and folk element to it than Fleetwood Mac. That said, they can pen a blissful, harmony filled tune like ‘My Love Ain’t Gonna Save You’, which does recall Fleetwood Mac in their prime. As does ‘I Want No Other Love’, where the fiddle playing of Nicole J Terry adds extra depth to the song’s sound. Callum comes into his own the jaunty folk rock of ‘London Life’. Guaranteed a radio hit if given the chance.

SJ Mortimer has much more blues/soul based vocal than Callum Morgan, as she belts it out on ‘Hurricane’, a right rollicking rocker of a tune. On ‘Frozen In Our Time’ it is almost like a female fronted Led Zeppelin, plenty of light and shade on this song and a vocal tour de force from Mortimer. More rocking to be had on ‘Let Me Go’ where the driving slide and guitar work recalls the Godfathers. Heaviest song on the album and shows another side to the band’s musical palate.

Morganway have an album and a half on their hands here and one they can reap rewards with the current popularity of Americana, country and folk music. Definitely a band to keep an eye on in the coming months and years. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply