JIMI ANDERSON GROUP I Belong AOR Heaven [Release date 30.08.19]

Second album from the Jimi Anderson Group, which sees singer Jimi Anderson working again with producers/musicians Sandy Jones and Greame Duffin, plus guitarist David Cuthbert.

There is nothing on here that hasn’t been done before in the melodic rock world, however with a hook as big as the Shard on ‘Wonderful Tokyo Nights’, just jump in and enjoy the music. Elsewhere, Jimi Anderson shows that his years performing AOR and melodic rock classics live allow him to put in an emotion filled vocal on ‘Until Then’. It also features a suitably grandiose guitar solo midway through. However, ‘Blinded By The Morning Light’ is a plodder but then ‘Fearless Warrior’ is a nice bit of hard rock with a strong storytelling lyric.

Another solid set of melodic rock from Jimi Anderson, although as I mentioned when reviewing his previous album, I do think he would come into his own and gain more recognition, fronting an established melodic rock outfit. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

HOLLOW HAZE - Between Wild Landscapes And Deep Blue Sea

HOLLOW HAZE Between Wild Landscapes And Deep Blue Seas Frontiers [Release date 12.07.19]

Hollow Haze formed in 2003 and released six studio albums before disbanding in 2015, when founding member Nick Savio left to form Eternal Idol with famed power metal vocalist Fabio Lione (Angra, Rhapsody). Nick Savio wound up resigning from Eternal Idol and decided to reform Hollow Haze with a new line-up. Joining Savio and long time bassist Davide Cestaro, are vocalist Fabio Dessi (Arthemis) and drummer Paolo Caridi. Savio wrote the music, as well as producing the album, whilst Dessi wrote the lyrcis.

One of the surprises on the album is the ballad ‘I Will Be There’, that wouldn’t look out of place on an album by Styx or Kansas, as it goes big on the pomp and emotion. It also features guest Secret Sphere’s Michele Luppi on keys. Elsewhere Hollow Haze produce melodic power metal as you’d expect, with plenty of bombast and orchestration when required such as on ‘New Era’ and ‘Destinations’.

There are a lot of power/melodic metal bands out there and I am never too sure how big the market/demand is for them all. However, Hollow Haze have an album here to help them get ahead of the musical pack and the backing of a label that knows a thing or two about promoting power metal. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

HUMBLE PIE - On To Victory

HUMBLE PIE On To Victory Store For Music [Release date 20.09.19]

A re-issue of Humble Pie’s ninth album (and strangely without the original album cover) released in 1980, which saw the two Humble Pie mainstays Steve Marriott and Jerry Shirley, recruit a new line-up consisting of guitarist Benmont Tench (Jeff Beck Group) and bassist Anthony ‘Sooty’ Jones.

Marriott wanted to have a more soul and R&B sound, hence adding in female backing vocals and on songs like the reggae falvoured  ‘Savin’ It’ also adding sax and horns. In fact the only real highlight is Steve Marriott’s take on Otis Redding’s ‘My Lover’s Prayer’, highlighting what a great singer he was. This line-up released one more album before calling it a day in 1983. Jerry Shirley still keeps a version of the band on the road, although he rarely plays live now.

Not one of the band’s better albums and not really sure why it has had a re-issue as there are no bonus songs or live songs added. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Canadian singer songwriter Josh Taerk plays an exclusive live session via Get Ready to ROCK!’s Facebook page on Sunday 5 April at 21:00 BST (GMT+1)

In his show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on Sunday 29 March David Randall featured a selection of tracks from “Albums of the Month” (January-March 2020) (29:45)

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HARTMANN 15 Pearls And Gems (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. II (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 GRAHAM GOULDMAN Modesty Forbids (Lojinx)

Power Plays w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

LOUISE LEMON Devil (Icons Creating Evil Art )
BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE Winter Keeps Us Warm (indie)
ONE DESIRE Shadowman (Frontiers)
CRYSTAL IGNITE Black Mamba (indie)
PICTURESQUE ATTN: (Rude Records/Equal Vision Records)
SKARLETT RIOT Human (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply