Album review: THE MEMBERS – Version


Cleopatra Records [Release date 16.08.19]

I can’t say I know a lot about punk rock mavericks The Members, beyond a vague recollection of their 1979 hit single ‘The Sound Of The Suburbs’, my allegiances back in the 1970′s being firmly nailed to the slowly sinking ship of prog, holed below the waterline by piratical upstarts.

Still boasting what could be considered ‘original’ members – Jean Marie Carroll (vocals and guitar), and Chris Payne (bass), The Members are still active and this irreverent ‘covers’ album will most likely divide opinion as much as punk did ‘back in the day’.

Picking 14 unlikely bedfellows, the band give them the most unlikely of treatments, and like punk, it’s something of a breath of fresh air.  It’s also proof, if it were ever needed, that you can do just about whatever you want with a well written song.  You certainly won’t break it.

Prince’s ‘When You Were Mine’ is given an excellent harmonica infused/The Cars style paint job, Abba’s ‘Does Your Mother Know’ is given a glam/Queen circa ‘It’s A Kind Of Magic’ makeover, while Bowie’s ‘Boys Keep Swinging’ is given a fairly reverential treatment (albeit cleverly mashed with ‘Under Pressure’ bassline), as are The Ramones’ ‘Sheena Is A Punk Rocker’, and Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers’ ‘Chinese Rocks’.

But it’s when the band go well ‘off piste’ that Version is most fascinating – ‘On Broadway’, originally by The Drifters, played to the riffs of The Kinks’ ‘All Of The Day And All Of The Night’, and the Two Tone/Specials style reinvention of The Buzzcocks’ ‘Ever Fallen In Love’.  They shouldn’t work, but they do, and it’s marvellously entertaining.

In many ways I was reminded of The Jolly Boys 2010 covers album Great Expectation – against all odds, this most unlikely of mash ups is somehow impossible to dislike and guaranteed to bring a smile to your face.  ****

Review by Pete Whalley

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 3 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 ROBERT HART Pure (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 DIRTY SHIRLEY (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 STEVE HARLEY Uncovered (indie)

Power Plays w/c 3 February (Mon-Fri)

CRIMSON STAR Living A Lie (indie)
FALSE HEARTS Remedy (indie)
AMONGST LIARS Over And Over (indie)
FLASHFIRES Circus Boy (indie)
MATT SPRINGFIELD Things I’ve Said (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply