Album review: EDENBRIDGE – Dynamind


SPV/Steamhammer [Release date 25.10.19]

Classic melodic symphonic metal from Austria, Edenbridge have up there with the best of them since their formation in 1998. Still going strong, this is their 10th studio album. Formed by vocalist Sabine Edeisbcher and guitarist, multi-instrumentalist and orchestrator Arne Lanvall Stockhammer, the band are joined here by guitarist Dominik Sebastian and drummer Johannes Jungreithmeier.

The album kicks off in typical symphonic fashion, the band will always draw comparison to bands like Nightwish, partly due to the operatic feel to Sabine’s vocals. There’s a lovely balance between power metal and melodic metal here, and aside the fine performances there’s some big production and swirling arrangements here. Where ‘Oceans Collide’ is a great power metal number with some nice harmonies going on in the vocals, while ‘On The Other Side’ features a strong Irish feel. The change in feel makes for a breath of fresh air, and it’s a feel that works too. Sabine’s vocals clearly versatile.

‘Tauerngold’ kicks off sounding epic, and there’s a gothic ballad feel to the song too.

The track I had to dive straight to was ‘The Last Of His Kind’ which, at over 12 minutes, takes a deep dive into prog metal territory. From moody and gothic to uplifting and back again, the band take you on lyrical, melodic and musical journey here, a few bars mid-song sounding Pink Floydish.

In places this album is much more atmospheric than most of the genre, with less than expected ventures into power metal. If an album can be a concept musically but not lyrically, this gets close. Go in with that in mind and it’s genuinely very enjoyable.

I’m not so sure on the second disc, which is an instrumental version of the album. Maybe for some fans, but I didn’t spin it. ****

Review by Joe Geesin

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 11 November (Mon-Fri)

THE FARGO RAILROAD COMPANY Something In The Water (indie)
THE DARK ELEMENT If I Had A Heart (Frontiers)
LIBERTY LIES A Thousand People (indie)
DIRTY SHIRLEY Here Comes The King (Frontiers)
CARRY THE CROWN Runaway (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 11 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 WORK OF ART Exhibits (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SIGN X Like A Fire (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 JACK BROADBENT Moonshine Blue (Creature Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply