Album review: LEE ABRAHAM – Comatose

LEE ABRAHAM - Comatose

F2 Music [Release date 27.09.19]

I really enjoyed Lee Abraham’s 2017 album ‘Colours’, a veritable AOR meets prog delight and now Lee Abraham is back with a new solo outing, this time a concept piece. ‘Comatose’ tells the story of a car crash victim who experiences flash backs while medical staff try to save his life.

For this musical journey Abraham is joined Gerald Mulligan (Credo) on drums, Rob Arnold on piano, Riversea’s Marc Atkinson on lead vocals and backing vocals from Diane Abraham and Galahad colleague Mark Spencer.

Opening with the album’s longest song ‘Numb. Pt.1’, Abraham’s guitar and the song’s overall sound recalls 90’s era Pink Floyd. Parts of the riffing though do have a distinct metal feel, Pink Metallica anyone? ‘Numb Pt.2’ compresses the heaviness into a shorter song. The guitar blends well with the fast tempo beat laid down by Gerald Mulligan.

Abraham focuses on the melody always, just listen to the glorious mix of guitar and backing vocals on ‘Ascend The Sky’. On ‘The Sun’, Marc Atkinson lays down a beautifully wistful vocal backed by acoustic playing from Abraham. A hit single in an alternate musical universe.

The storyline is an open one as it is up to the listener to decide how the story ends – does the crash victim survive?

A concise concept piece (clocking in at just under 47 minutes), that reveals more after each subsequent play and perfect for headphone listening (there is a lot going on in the background, listen carefully dear listener). A progtastic treat from start to finish. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply