BRUCE COCKBURN - Crowing Ignites

BRUCE COCKBURN Crowing Ignites True North Records [Release date 20.09.19]

‘Crowing Ignites’ is Bruce Cockburn’s 34th and his second all instrumental album, which differs from his previous instrumental album in that the compositions on here are brand new.

The music covers a variety of styles from the easy jazz shuffle on ‘The Mt. Lefory Waltz’, featuring Ron Miles on cornet, through to jaunty ‘Sweetness And Light’. There is a lovely bit of blues on ‘The Groan’, complete with hand claps to give it that old time blues feel.

Cockburn’s guitar playing is wonderful to listen to for a non-muso like myself, listening to say ‘Angels In The Half Light’ you can’t help but be impressed at the swiftness of the playing and clarity of the sound.

This new collection of instrumental works will certainly please his fan base and provide a showcase for budding acoustic guitarists. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

LOUIEN - None Of My Words

LOUIEN None Of My Words Jansen Records [Release date 20.09.19]

Norwegian singer songwriter Louien is also a member of Silver Lining and this solo album is a personal one, based on her feelings after the death of her father four years ago.

Listening to this one name kept coming back to mind, that of the classic era Joni Mitchell. Maybe not vocally but the way the voice takes centre stage and the instruments are then built up around this. Take for instance ‘The Fool’, a dreamy vocal beefed up with a choral like backing.

A deeply personal album and one that won’t be for all, however Louien can be proud of what she has recorded and it will provide a soothing musical balm for some. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Each week David Randall presents ‘New to GRTR!’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, with the emphasis on independent artists and labels. During December he replays favourite tracks including power plays featured during the year. This show covers the period January-March and was first broadcast on 1 December 2019.

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply