ROBERT TEPPER - Better Than The Rest

ROBERT TEPPER Better Than The Rest AOR Heaven [Release date 27.09.19]

Robert Tepper is best known for his song ‘No Easy Way Out’, which was the theme to ‘Rocky IV’ and has been subsequently released in various dance remix guises, as well as being covered by the likes of Bullet For My Valentine. He has appeared in recent years at the now defunct Rockingham festival and now has a new solo album where he has collaborated with guitarist Pablo Padilla.

‘Why Does Over (Have To Be So Sad)’ opens the album off in style. Hints of Toto in the sound which shows Tepper in fine vocal form. A couple of songs on here like ‘My Yesterday’ would be movie soundtrack hits back in the day, whilst ‘Show Me Where The Light Is Going’ comes across like prime time Night Ranger.

Padilla weaves his guitar throughout the album, nothing overly heavy more along the lines of the deft touch of Toto’s Steve Lukather.

From such an experienced and successful songwriter you’d expect a classy release and that is what you get with ‘Better Than The Rest’. One for those who like their 80’s influenced AOR. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

JEREMY IVER - The Dream and the Dreamer

JEREMY IVEY The Dream and the Dreamer ANTI-Records [Release date 13.09.19]

Despite being known in Nashville and for being a member of Buffalo Clover, this is Jeremy Ivey’s debut solo album. Helping him out is his wife Margo Price produced the album

Ivey pens a memorable tune be it the old time country on ‘Worry Doll’ or the search for a sense of home on ‘Greyhound’, which features some lovely guitar picking. ‘Gina The Tramp’ has that immersive storytelling style reminiscent of the Hold Steady, albeit on a gentler pace. The title track is one to make the listener think, especially about the state of the world today. Ivey’s vocals and the piano work perfectly.

It may have taken awhile for Jeremy Ivey to release his debut album, however it has been worth the wait. An album that takes a little while to sink in fully, but well worth your listening time. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

INTO THE UNKOWN - Breaking The Silence

INTO THE UNKOWN Breaking The Silence Vigilante Music [Release date 06.09.19]

Second album by Into The Unkown – Rupert Withers (bass, keys), Ryan Atkins (guitars) and Lucie Holzlova (vocals) – which sees them expand their line-up by adding drummer Mike Bennett and rhythm guitarist James Milner (presumbly not the Liverpool footballer of the same name!).

There are two things that make the album tough going at times. First up the vocals, as despite Lucie have a strong range her vocals sound over produced. Secondly the music sounds disjointed at times, and they lack a killer riff in many of the songs. That said the piano led ballad ‘You Can’t Have Love Without The Pain’ and the hard rocking ‘Live Your Life’ are stand outs and well worth a listen. They also do a heavy cover of the Howard Jones hit ‘What Is Love?’ which works well.

Sadly after a decent debut ‘Breaking The Silence’ is a bit of step backwards. Still worth a listen but they perhaps need to focus on the vocals production and songs next time. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk

(Sunday 25 April 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT)

It’s an Anniversary Show celebrating a year of Sunday Sessions.

Next session: Sunday 23 May, 21:00 GMT and 16:00 EST

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 18 April 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at www.getreadytorock.com for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 April 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 17 May 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 LEVARA (Mascot)
12:00-13:00 DAVE BURN Nothing Is As It Seems (indie)
14:00-16:00 HONEY AND THE BEAR Journey Through The Roke (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 May 2021 (Mon-Fri)

PAVILION Vivre Sa Vie (indie)
H2s04 Machines Love (indie)
RIIVER BRUKES Break The Chains (indie)
CASKETS Lost In Echoes (indie)
NEONFLY Beating Hearts (Noble Demon)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply