Album review: ATLANTAEUM FLOOD – One Day


Self-release  [Release date 11.11.19]

Atlantæum Flood is an instrumental five-piece collective featuring former the Church and All About Eve member Marty Willson-Piper (electric guitars, acoustic guitar, bass, shaker, EBow, bongos, bouzouki, classical guitar, snare), Olivia Willson-Piper (violins, cellolin, duduk), multi-instrumentalist Steve Knott (who composed the music too), Lynne Knott (electric cello) and Dare Mason (keys, drum programming, mandolin, triangle, shaker, lap steel, bamboo flute, electric guitar).

As the title suggests the eight pieces of music on here cover one day, from ‘Before Sunrise’ to ‘After Midnight’. It is up to the listener to interpret the theme of the album and the music, suffice to say it is a very uplifting listen.

The whole album is a highlight, although special mention to ‘After Sunset’ which is driven along by intricate, melodic guitar playing backed by a swirling orchestral backing. Wonderful stuff from start to finish. Also ‘Before Midnight’, an ethereal folk air on this one, mellow and relaxed as that time of day can be sometimes – one for All About Eve and 80’s era Clannad fans.

The whole album is a wonderful listen, very immersive with an epic feel taking in elements of folk, ambient, classical and progressive rock.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 February, 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 February 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 9 February 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 February 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 RADAR Lost In The Atlantic (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 DURBIN The Beast Awakens (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 ANNEKE VAN GIERSBERGEN – The Darkest Days Are The Brightest (InsideOut Music)

Power Plays w/c 22 February 2021 (Mon-Fri)


ALLY VENABLE Road To Nowhere

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply