Album review: DANDELION CHARM – Maybe Dreamers

DANDELION CHARM – Maybe Dreamers

Independent [Release date 01.11.19]

Dandelion Charm – John Fowler and Clare Fowler – return with their second studio album and ‘Maybe Dreamers’ marks a big leap forward for the band, as they widen their musical horizons further. Sadly this album is tinged with sadness following the death of the band’s keyboard player Phillip John Wickens earlier this year.

For a duo they have so many musical ideas, be it the prog work out on ‘Isolate Resolve’ – shades of Yes and I think I hear a mellotron in the mix! Then there is the soaring guitar solo on ‘Flicker’, a song with a dreamy, Fleetwood Mac air about it. If this band were around in the 70’s they would be a household name I am sure.

It is not just the music though as both John and Clare Fowler are impressive singers. ‘Afraid Of The Silence’ sees both of them in vocal action, a nifty up-tempo number with a hint of jazz (and the guitar riff reminds me of a 70’s TV theme for some reason…).

Dandelion Charm retain their folk roots, none more so than on the wonderful ‘Stephanie’. This song has it all from a memorable chorus through to blissful harmonies. A perfect fit for daytime airplay.

Dandelion Charm are moving on in leaps and bounds in their musical endeavours with ‘Maybe Dreamers’ their strongest release to date. They effortlessly meld melodic pop with prog, rock, folk and jazz. Melodic and memorable tunes, with strong lyrical themes, Dandelion Charm have made a remarkable album and one they should be justifiably proud of. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

COLLATERAL Mr Big Shot (Roulette Media Records)
BABY HUSBAND Stop Thinking About Tomorrow (indie)
OF ALLIES Off The Map (indie)
MARISA AND THE MOTHS – Slave (indie)
CATTLE AND CANE I Wish I Knew Jesus (Like I Do)
KING VOODOO Creep (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Big Blue World (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 REDLINE Gods & Monsters (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 WILDWOOD KIN (Silvertone/Sony)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply