Album review: EDGE OF FOREVER – Native Soul


Frontiers [Release date 06.12.19]

Edge Of Forever are back with their first album in nine years. They still feature founding member, producer, singer and keyboardist Alessandro Del Vecchio (who has been very busy in the interim as Frontiers ‘go to’ for various bands and projects the label has released). He is joined by bass player Nik Mazzucconi (who featured on Edge Of Forever’s last album) and two new members – guitarist Aldo Lonobile (Secret Sphere) and Hardline drummer Marco Di Salvia – one of the band’s Del Vecchio is also involve in.

As the album’s title suggests many of the songs have an environmental/Mother Earth slant, including the opening song, the a cappella ‘Three Rivers’. The band’s love of melodic rock shines through on the Journey-like ‘Promised Land’ and ‘Carry On’, whilst ‘Take Your Time’ takes a rockier route with a fast guitar solo and suitably impressive keyboard solo.

‘Shine’ is the album’s big production ballad, which is neatly done including an emotional vocal performance from Alessandro Del Vecchio.

Good to finally have a new album from Edge Of Forever and hopefully we won’t have to wait so long for album number five. Don’t let this one pass you by as many December releases never get the full attention they deserve, often lost in the sea of year end ‘best of’s’. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

Breakthrough Acts 2020

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply