Album review: MOTLEY CRUE – Dr Feelgood

MOTLEY CRUE - Dr Feelgood

(30th Anniversary Edition) Motley Records/Eleven Seven Music [Release date 29.11.19]

“Dr. Feelgood” was originally released in 1989, the fifth studio album from Motley Crue, it is also their bestselling to date having sold over six million copies (and who knows how many streams since the success of  2019’s “The Dirt” movie). The album contains singles “Without You”, “Don’t Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)”, “KIckstart My Heart”, “Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S)” and of course title track “Dr. Feelgood”, and I doubt that I need to remind anyone how good a record this is, it really does speak for itself.

Whilst “Dr.Feelgood” remains one of my favourite albums, I have to admit that I am a little disappointed by the content of this 30th Anniversary reissue. There have been two previous reissues (2009’s 20th Anniversary and earlier in 2003), both of which had more content. The bonus tracks on this edition are the demos for “Dr.Feelgood” (with different lyrics), “Without You” and “Kickstart My Heart” (this is a great version, with a little more urgency and added threat to if). The earlier reissues between them also included the demo for “Time For Change”, the unreleased track “Get It For Free” and a handful of the album’s tracks recorded live on the subsequent tour, surely some of this could have been included here?

There was also at least one home video (yes, remember those?) released at the time that included live footage and promo videos and it is shame that this has not been added as a bonus DVD.

The rather pricey deluxe edition does include picture discs and a green vinyl copy of the album itself, but again there is no additional material. There are however a load of medical themed items that are included with this edition, should you require these for your collection.

Thirty years on and “Dr.Feelgood” is still a great album that has lasted the test of time. With Motley Crue currently enjoying a resurgence, and an army of new fans, this new edition will no doubt sell well. ****

Review by Nikk Gunns

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply