SOLD ‘Empty Words’

Seemingly making quantum leaps with each new release, Estonia band Sold have really hit things out of the ballpark with ‘Empty Words’. A snarling wildcat of a song, its mix of growling male and clean female vocals might be somewhat traditional but they do it with such huge style that you can’t but help get pulled in. This is a truly blistering attack that equally savages and soothes as it switches between Vitaly and Anne, both giving their all as the band rips into the tune with determination and dexterity. This band have the potential to be gracing some very big stages in the near future.

FALSE HEARTS ‘Misery Loves Company’

We live in crazy times. Strange as it seems, Birmingham seems to be fast in danger of being overtaken by Cambridge as the rock ‘n’ roll centre of the country. So many superb bands coming out of the city recently and False Hearts are making their bid for the big time with this slice of hard rock perfection. With a truly great vocal performance by Emma Hodgson and an end section that really takes off, ‘Misery Loves Company’ is a mouthwatering taster for their forthcoming ‘Remedy’ EP due in April. Hook filled, seductive and forthright, this is a track that Halestorm wish they could write.

HELLZ ‘Desire’

A good, old fashioned grasp of matching hard rock, glam and a killer song with some incredible vocals, ‘Desire’ rolls some of your favourite things into just under four perfect minutes. Australia has been the birthplace of some world beating acts and it looks like Hellz may well join their ranks with this slab of vivacious metal. Totally irresistible, this will be your new fix and you’ll be craving for more.

Reviews by Paul Monkhouse

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply