Album review: BIRDEATSBABY – The World Conspires

BIRDEATSBABY – The World Conspires

Bandcamp [Release date 18.10.19]

‘The World Conspires’ is the fifth album from birdeatsbaby, who started out in 2009. Birdeatsbaby’s current line-up consist of Mishkin Fitzgerald (vocals, piano, accordion, synths), Hana Maria (violin, cello, vocals, harp, hurdy-gurdy), Garry Mitchell (bass, guitars, vocals, double bass, Rhodes Organ) and Pablo Paracchino (drums, percussion, flute, sax).

Fellow GRTR! writer Pete Whalley reviewed their 2016 album ‘Tanta Furia’ hitting the nail on the head when he said, “it’s to their credit that they sound like no one else”. Birdseatbaby play music they want, regardless of genre, so strap yourself in dear listener for a musical ride like no other…

Opening with the melodic refrain of ‘Hold Your Breath’, it lulls the listen in before the single ‘Painkiller’, a metal beast of a song and totally at odds with the opening track. Mind you the next song ‘Zero Forty Three’ sounds like a female fronted Muse, featuring a wonderful synths, strings and vocals mix. So expect the unexpected as you progress through the album.

‘Lady Grey’ is a catchy tune and one of the album’s highlights (along with ‘Bad Blood’ – loving the madcap time changes on this one), whilst ‘Esmeralda’ is a laid back number with a jazzy feel. Just as you are sitting (fairly) comfortably the classical/operatic ‘Dido’s Lament’ appears. They really do go wherever their muse takes them. Just for variety this is then followed by the punky refrains on ‘Kill No One’. Album closer ‘Look Away’ brings to mind Dead Can Dance, trippy folk topped by dreamy vocals.

This is not an instant album by any means, but then albums that take a little effort to fully appreciate often stand the test of time, as opposed to an instant album that can sometimes wear thin after a couple of months, even weeks. Highly recommended as birdeatsbaby are the very essence of progressive music, pushing themselves into new musical realms each time, always listenable though and not self-indulgent nonsense that can beset some bands. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply