EP review: SILVERTHORNE – Tear The Sky Wide Open

SILVERTHORNE - Tear The Sky Wide Open

Golden Robot Records [Release date 21.02.20]

We’ve not heard much from Pete Shoulder since the last Union album, a band he formed in tandem with Thunder’s Luke Morley. Now he’s back with Silverthorne where he is joined by drummer Brian Tichy (Whitesnake, Ozzy, Foreigner) and bassist Daniel Spree (Phil X & the Drills), with Pete Shoulder also handling the guitar parts.

The title track is the EP’s stand out, a big bold number recalling the likes of Soundgarden and Alter Bridge, with its anthemic chorus and guitar parts. Released as a single last August this really perked up the ears and interest of many rock fans.

‘Haunted By The Dawn’ harks back to an earlier era of rock, namely Led Zeppelin and it makes the EP’s other stand out. Pete Shoulder still has that siren like vocal that makes the listener sit up and take notice.

Of the other three songs on here, ‘Roll Me Back Again’ sounds a little formulaic, ‘Black River Rising’ is a nice slow Sabbath meets Soundgarden groover. ‘Movin’ highlights what a great drummer Brian Tichy is and no wonder he’s been called upon by so many bands.

Silverthorne set out to make music with no set goal and go with their creative muse, which they achieved. The two stand out songs hint at something special, they just need to get a few more songs in that vein. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT V – Life Motion (Intelligent Music)
12:00-13:00 HOUSE OF LORDS New World, New Eyes (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN HEMMING Broken Road (indie)

Power Plays w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

SKYFEVER Is This The End Of The World (indie)
JD SIMO One Of Those Days (Crows Feets Records)
JAMES WARREN Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (Singsong Music)
THE BLACK MOODS Sunshine (indie)
EKKO PARK All Eyes On Me (Dinner For Wolves)
LARKIN POE Holy Ghost Fire (Tricki-Woo Records)
GILBY CLARKE (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply