Album review: RETURN – V


AOR Heaven [Release date 27.03.20]

Classy Norwegian four man melodic rock band, Return, released their fifth album in 1992. That year, the rock’n'roll world shifted on its axis, and a lot of great melodic rock albums suffered commercially as a result. This was one of them.

Too bad. Their previous 4 albums succeeded in their native country but resolutely refused to breakout into other markets… “V” could’ve been the one.

The band’s low key approach… using soughing strings and spare, acoustic guitars to frame their songs as a lead in to the big chorus was novel, daring even, but doesn’t always work. That said, they deploy that marriage of strings especially well on ‘Take This Heart’ and ‘Friends Will Be Friends’, both reflecting the innocence of first love, before launching into a huge, heavily orchestrated chorus, injecting a boyband charm as the songs progress.

There’s a thread of pop commerciality running through the album. Standouts would be the lushly romantic ‘Life Must Go On’ and ‘Riding On A Rainbow’. Both have a definitive Stage Dolls’ feel, with pealing guitars underlining a memorable hook.

Two tracks escape from the envelope: ‘Tonight’ merges rock, pop and country into a discrete sub genre, lit up by sparkly acoustic guitars; ‘All Or Nothing’ wanders into the Norwegian end of the Mississippi Delta, combining steel guitars and a bluesy harmonica with rumble of bass heavy percussion. Both work, suggesting a wider musical direction worthy of exploration.

The remastering by Chris (Soul Doctor) Lyne provides the tracks with the punch and clarity that the original album lacked, and Dave (Wiggy) Reynolds provides new and entertaining liner notes, along with the obligatory “previously unseen” pics of the band.

Review by Brian McGowan

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 24 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply