Album review: SHAKRA – Mad World

SHAKRA - Mad World

AFM Records [Release date 28.02.20]

“Mad World” is Shakra’s 12th studio album, and it’s a lot like the previous 11. That’s a relief. Thomas Muster’s and Thom Blunier’s economic riffs continue to drive the music, and along with prodigal son, Mark Fox, they continue to mine a narrow seam, but they dig deep and frequently come up with solid gold.

In the tradition of Krokus, AC/DC and maybe The Angels, they’ve pursued the perfection of the rock riff form for the last 25 years. On “Mad World” it sounds seamless, intuitive, and always remarkably lean and confident.

So, in common with the back catalogue, dry-as-a-bone riffola, sharp axe soloing and spare, unshowy choruses abound. Sometimes beautifully understated, like ‘Too Much Is Not Enough’ and ‘A Roll Of The Dice’. Sometimes steamrollering, flattening everything in their path, as on ‘Fireline’ and ‘When He Comes Around’.

It gives rise to the notion that once their motorised verses and compact choruses have been recorded, the band spend hours of studio time paring them back, jettisoning anything remotely superfluous. What you might also observe is that tangled among the taut, tense, clearcut riffs are some some tuneful little axe motifs – like on ‘Mad World’, the track, ‘Fake News’ and ‘New Tomorow’, creating a sense of complexity that sits comfortably in contrast with the band’s precision engineered riffs and stomping percussive thump.

That said, they don’t stray too far outside their own pre-drawn lines, but clearly, it’s roomy inside and they make every moment count. ***1/2

Review by Brian McGowan


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 20 December., imbued with a festive flavour to raise the spirits

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Our Glass House (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SERGEANT STEEL Truck Tales (Boyz Tyme Records)
14:00-16:00 DAN REED Liftoff (Zero Entertainment)

Power Plays w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

BLACK SPIDERS – Good Times (Dark Riders Records/Cargo Records)
GRAVITY MACHINE Standing Stones (Zyse Records)
EMPIIRES Love Or Hate (TLG Entertainment/INgrooves)
RAY FENWICK Tam Tam (Singsong Music)
DEAD REYNOLDS Voices (The Fort)
LAYLA ZOE Don’t Wanna Help Anyone (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply