EP review: YAKIMA – Go Virtually

YAKIMA - Go Virtually

[Release date 03.04.20]

Yakima are a four piece consisting of John Houston (guitar & vocals), Neil McArthur (bass & vocals), Paul Bradley (guitar) and Kay McLaren (drums & percussion). The words lo-fi and dreamy pop get mentioned in articles about them, whilst they do recall bands like Big Star, Teenage Fanclub and the Byrds, for their love of jangly pop.

Despite their fluffy melodies, lyrically they are a lot darker covering insomnia on ‘Judy’s Lament’ (based on Judy Garland’s struggles with insomnia) and the delightful melody on ‘Sheep Boy, Cry Man’, describes Japanese cry rooms where people let go off their anxieties.

John Houston and Neil McArthur blend their vocals to perfection on ‘Thanks’. Reminiscent of the Thrills and going further back in time, the Byrds. Mind you the uptempo ‘I’m Happy (In No Way)’ you can imagine blasting out on a festival stage.

Six songs and each one stands out on its own. Yakima are one to watch out for and grab a listen of this sun kissed EP. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply