Album review: BUFFALO SUMMER – Desolation Blue

Silver Lining Records [Release date 27.03.20]

This is the third album from Buffalo Summer and rather good it is too. The Welsh wonders have been playing up and down the country and every festival they can get with a decent level of success, however they are still looking for that one thing to move them on to the next level. Will this be the album? Only time will tell but the quality on show should stand them in good stead.

Opening track ‘The Power & The Greed’ gets things off to a low key start, the track sounding rather laid back and reminding me of The Doors at a quiet point. Things soon pick up with the lead track from the album ‘Hit The Ground Running’ which is a mid-paced blues rock track of the highest order.

An early album highlight is up next in the shape of ‘If Walls Could Speak’ which is a full on rocker built on an excellent riff provided by guitarist Jonny Williams. One of the interesting things about this album is the variety of musical styles on offer, from fast paced, fist pumping rock of ‘Everybody’s Out For Number 1’ to laid back, late night blues ‘Dark Valentine’, there is something here for everyone.

No matter what the style is, the musicianship on display is top notch as are the vocals of Andrew Hunt who can ease from one song style to another without missing a beat.

‘The Bitter End’ and ‘Pilot Light’ round off the album, again at a more sedate pace but no less effective. ‘The Bitter End’ reminded me of tracks by Alice In Chains, don’t know if that was intended but it works for me.

This is a solid album by the guys which showcases their musical versatility and playing prowess. Hopefully this will be the springboard that sees Buffalo Summer head for pastures new and exciting.


Review by Dave Wilson

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply