Album review: GOTTHARD – #13


Nuclear Blast [Release date 13.03.20]

Back in the early 90’s I went to see a new local band whilst in Switzerland, and very good they were too. That band was Gotthard, and here we are nearly thirty years later and the band have just released their 13th studio album, aptly titled “#13”. Bluesy at time soulful at others, melodic and a great rock album this will appeal to fans of the likes of Whitesnake, Europe and Paul Rodgers as the band nicely blend European rock music traits with those of their bigger sounding US counterparts.

“#13” is one of those albums where every track is a good ‘un. The Def Leppard meets Whitesnake feel of “Every Time I Die”, “No Time To Cry”, “Better Than Love”, “Save The Date” and the big and slower ballad like “I Can Say I´m Sorry” are my personal highlights here.

Then let me tell you about “S.O.S”, the band’s cover of the ABBA hit, which is strangely enjoyable and not unlike Sweden’s other big sellers Europe, the Chris Cornell like album closer “Rescue Me” or the great guitar work on “Another Last Time” and “10,000 Faces”.

The album was produced by Paul Lani, who also worked with the band on their “Homerun” album, was co-produced by guitarist Leo Leoni, and is classic Gotthard from the opening chords of “Bad News” on. If you are a listener of the UK’s Planet Rock radio then you may already be familiar with the album’s first single “Missteria”, a track that has an almost Eastern feel to it and although a little bit repetitive at times, I bet you’ll hear this across Europe this summer.

Gotthard are a great band and “#13” is a great album. Hopefully the current world lockdown won’t impact the band’s touring plans too badly as I reckon these new songs are going to sound great live. *****

Review by Nikk Gunns

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply