Album review: KHYMERA – Master Of Illusions

KHYMERA – Master Of Illusions

Frontiers [Release date 06.03.20]

Album number five from Khymera, who started out as an alliance between Italian producer & musician Daniele Liverani and then Kansas singer Steve Walsh. Khymera has since developed into a regular musical project when bassist and producer Dennis Ward (Magnum, Pink Cream 69) joined.

It has been five years since ‘The Grand Design’ album, with Dennis Ward (vocals, bass) joined by Michael Klein (guitars), Pete Newdeck (drums) and Eric Ragno (keyboards) on this latest album.

Opener ‘Walk Away’ rides in on a parpy keys and guitar riff, then we are off and rocking. This is typical Khymera, with an instant chorus and melody, topped off by Dennis Ward’s vocals. He will certainly prove to be a canny addition to the Magnum ranks given his production, playing and singing talents.

‘Follow The Sun’ recalls those sounds beloved of Mike Slammer produced albums, namely big layered backing vocals and precise, melodic guitar riffs. It really does hit the musical spot nicely.

The title track even has a hint of ELO about in the sign off strings/synths part, one of the album’s ‘go to’ songs. Like much of the album it is keyboards led recalling the halcyon days of bands like Guiffria and mid-80s Journey, albeit with a modern sound.

Of course there are ballads, ‘Father To Son’ has it all from the impassioned vocals of Dennis Ward through to the grandiose arrangements.

Khymera have hit the target again with an uplifting album of melodic rock gems. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 22 November.

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 15 November 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 November 2020

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JEFF SCOTT SOTO Wide Awake (In My Dreamland) (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 LAZARUS DREAM Alive (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 RONAN FURLONG The King Of Leaves (Thoroughbred Music)

Power Plays w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

L.A. GUNS All That You Are (Golden Robot Records)
THE DUST CODA Limbo Man (Earache)
IRON SAVIOR Souleater (AFM Records)
IVY GOLD This Is My Time (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply