Album review: IRON TYGER – Hyperdrive

IRON TYGER - Hyperdrive

Coda Records [Release date 10.03.20]

In the spirit of keeping 80s rock music alive, Sussex (England) based band Iron Tyger release their third album, and they remain firm favourites of the team at Music Legends.

Drummer Trev Harper is son of folk legend Roy Harper, and the band also feature singer/keyboard player Roz Smith, guitarist Jonny Smale and bassist Marcus Quilter.

The Coda Records are doing a fine job of released live material (for example radio broadcasts) by some acts and Iron Tyger seem very at home here.

Their first album Unleashed caused a buzz, featuring tracks by G’n’R, Iron Maiden and AC/DC, while the second was a homage to Queen.

And now get the band’s third and for what is a covers album, a rather good listen. From the outset the band have their own, and have changed some of the arrangements. The fourpiece do get a good sound. I am genuinely impressed by Roz Smith’s vocals.

Opener is Free’s Wishing Well and although it doesn’t stick strictly to either the original or Gary Moore’s version, it is distinctive and there’s a great guitar solo in there too.

The AC/DC song is good but lacks edge, but what I was very impressed by was the 7 minute Hyperdrive. Again great vocals and guitar on Boston’s More Than A Feeling. And Whiskey In A Jar is beefed up too.

This is well worth checking out, as is the coloured vinyl 45 of 99 Red Balloons/Ace Of Spades. I think there’s some online gigs planned so check them out on Facebook too. ***1/2

 Review by Joe Geesin

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply