EP review: CADENCE NOIR – A Reckless Endeavour

CANDENCE NOIR - A Reckless Endeavour

Indie [Release date 20.06.20]

There’s something so blissfully wild and earthy about Cadence Noir as they join great bands like The Levellers in mixing folk and punk into a heady brew that will make you dance uncontrollably. This new seven track EP shows the band at the height of their powers, bringing such light and shade to their own specific take on the folk genre that you can do nothing but stand their open mouthed in awe.

From the sparky folk rock opener, the delightfully named ‘Weighing Owls’, through to the heavier ‘Hammered and Sickened’ the band know how to immediately get you onside, casting a spell that’s hard to break as Adrien Perrie’s guitar and vocals whip up a frenzy. Title track ‘A Reckless Endeavor’ fizzes with a New Wave energy whilst mixing that in with equal parts metal and their more traditional groundings as Nick Chamberlain and Tom Smith beef things up on guitar and bass respectively whilst ‘the slow/fast pace of ‘Down the Park’ works an absolute treat, Emma Bennett’s violin sparkling with a rare luminescence. It would have been great to see a little more of this more sedate side of the band on the EP as it sounds like a beautiful lullaby and shows some real colour rather than the headlong rush but with time pressing there’s only so much you can fit in to an EP.

‘My Place’ is a bouncy, party tune that sounds like something you should really be lifting a drink or two over your head as you sing at the top of your voice, your other arm around the shoulders of a friend. The slightly manic ‘Dave’s Turnip Tart’ shows off the skills solely of drummer David Budge before we slip into the final (hidden) track ‘Hey Yeah’ that closes things with more good natured, Waterboys-ish, high octane folk and proves to be one of the highlights of the EP. It’s genuinely impossible to listen to ‘A Reckless Endeavour’ without a huge smile creasing your face. ***1/2

Review by Paul Monkhouse

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply