Single reviews: LITTLE CAESAR, UDO

LITTLE CAESAR - Straight Shooter

LITTLE CAESAR – Straight Shooter Golden Robot Records [Release date 15.05.20]

The much underrated, often overlooked Little Caesar, champions of biker rock, returned to the recording studio in 2018, after an 6 year absence. They had been a much feted major label signing back in 1989, but never realised their pre-ordained fate.

That 2018 album, “Eight”, opened to some great reviews, but failed to gain traction in a world dominated by post rock and hip hop/country crossovers. But if you missed it, which you probably did, then you genuinely missed out on some finely grained hard rock.

‘Straight Shooter’ is one of the album’s better tracks, a bitter tongued polemic aimed hard and fast at Donald Trump, whose “bullshit” they aver is “up to his knees”.

In a move designed to capture the moment, the label have released the track to media, clearly hoping that it may revive interest in the full album (which it deserves).

Listen to ‘Straight Shooter’ here

UDO - We Are One

UDO AND DAS MUSIKKORPS DER BUNDESWEHR – We Are One AFM Records [Release date 15.05.20]

From political polemics to climate catastrophes, German Metal legend, UDO Dirkschneider has teamed up with his country’s Band Of The Armed Forces (Musikkorps Der Bundeswehr), to deliver a superbly orchestrated, carefully tempered chunk of guitars&brass heavy metal titled ‘We Are One (We Are Free)’. The lyrics, as you might imagine, encourage us to get together to save the world. It may not possess enough originality to propel it onto the global stage, but musically, it’s got an unstoppable rolling momentum, and a shout-it-out-loud, all-join-in chorus.

Dirkschneider’s high profile might just give it just the impetus it needs.

Listen to ‘We Are The One’ here

Reviews by Brian McGowan

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply