Album review: PINNACLE POINT – Symphony Of Mind

PINNACLE POINT - Symphony Of Mind

Escape Music [Release date 17.07.20]

Pinnacle Point released their debut album ‘Winds Of Change’ back in 2017 and the band features vocalist Jerome Mazza (Angelica, Outlaw Son, Steve Walsh) and guitarist Torben Enevoldsen (Fate, Acacia Avenue, Section A). They are joined by violinist Valeria Pozharitskaya, drummer Mark Prator, bassist Takeaki Itoh, pianist John F. Rodgers and Howard Helm, of cult pomp rockers Zon, on keyboards and synth.

The opening trio on here are worth getting the album for. First up the instrumental pomp of ‘Asscent’, this is swiftly followed by ‘So Alive’, which you would swear was Steve Walsh fronted Kansas, made even more so by the violin playing of Valeria Pozharitskaya. Then comes the album’s real stand out, the melodic rocker ‘Weight Of The World’. A wonderful mix of prime time melodic rock with a few prog touches and a top notch guitar solo.

Mind you the album keeps on giving as ‘Hero’ is a classy mix of the Kansas 70s pomp sound (with a little bit of the ‘Power’ album on the drums in particular), with the band’s own spin. Or enjoy the piano playing of John F. Rodgers on ‘In The Wake Of Hope’. Needless to say Jerome Mazza’s vocals are a key ingredient of the album, coupled with the talented musicians who each have their time on the spotlight throughout the album.

This summer we are spoilt really as not only are Kansas releasing their new album, we have this second album from Pinnacle Point, a band who certainly owe a lot in their sound to Kansas. In fact, if you hanker for the Steve Walsh fronted days of that band Pinnacle Point will be right up your musical street. Pomp it up and enjoy! ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply