Album review: DUKES OF THE ORIENT – Freakshow


Frontiers [Release date 07.08.20]

Dukes Of The Orient – vocalist John Payne (ex-Asia, GPS) and keyboardist Erik Norlander (Last In Line, Lana Lane, Rocket Scientists) – return with their second album. Dukes Of The Orient has more of a band feel as Payne and Norlander are joined by guitarist Andy Garcia, Frank Klepacki on drums, and saxophonist, Eric Tewalt.

The album starts off with ‘The Dukes Return’ that mixes in some pomp keyboards and Queen like harmonies. A suitably grandiose start to the album. Next up ‘The Ice Is Thin’ has a real Supertramp feel to it, from the 70’s groove laden keys through to the sax breaks. There is even a vocoder solo!

One thing noticeable is the slightly gruffer vocals from John Payne at times, none more so than on the title track. Quite a heavy track compared to the rest of the album.

‘The Monitors’ is the only song that recalls Asia in sound, Norlander’s keyboards playing (plenty of parping to be had on this song) is impressive on this one, as indeed it is throughout the whole album. The instrumental ‘The Great Brass Steam Engine’ allows Norlander to highlight his keyboards wizardry.

Only ‘The Last Time Traveller’ fails to impress. Neat idea to add spoken word to tale of possible Victorian/steam punk time travel, but the cod Cockney accent grates after a couple of listens. The song seems to seem to be the weakest link on an otherwise strong album.

‘When Ravens Cry’ and ‘Until Then’ are a fine pomp fuelled duo to end the album on. The former features lush harmony vocals, whilst the latter features laid back guitar playing from Andy Garcia, gloriously uplifting.

Norlander and Payne make a strong song writing combo, no second album flop for the Dukes Of Orent, as they serve up an enjoyable mix of prog, pomp and melodic rock. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 22 November.

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 15 November 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 November 2020

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JEFF SCOTT SOTO Wide Awake (In My Dreamland) (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 LAZARUS DREAM Alive (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 RONAN FURLONG The King Of Leaves (Thoroughbred Music)

Power Plays w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

L.A. GUNS All That You Are (Golden Robot Records)
THE DUST CODA Limbo Man (Earache)
IRON SAVIOR Souleater (AFM Records)
IVY GOLD This Is My Time (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply