EP review: MADRE SUN – The Speed of Light

MADRE SUN – The Speed of Light

Facebook [Release date24.07.20]

Madre Son was formed by brothers Eduardo (bass, vocals) and Matt Cavina (guitar), along with guitarist Tyson Schenker (son of Michael). They are joined on the EP by drummer Flipi Stipp. They certainly have rock pedigree and recording this, their debut EP, over a ten day stint at a studio in Cambridge.

Eduardo Cavina has a rough ‘n’ ready vocal style, perfect for the fast and furious ‘Speed Of Light’. Tyson Schenker certainly lets fly on the guitar solos on this one (he used a Flying V for some of the guitar parts on the EP). Lyrically strong too with this song being about the speed at which we live our lives and hwo quickly they pass us by.

It may only be a five song EP but Madre Sun look to have plenty of ideas as the chugging, almost grunge like ‘Puzzle’ proves. Loving the drums and bass playing on this one. Tighter than the proverbial gnat’s chuff!

Madre Sun have the classic rock riffs mixed with the more modern sounding rock of the Foo Fighters and Alter Bridge. Impressive start and definitely a band with the potential to make big impression in the rock n roll world. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 22 November.

More about Josh: http://getreadytorock.me.uk/blog/?s=%22Josh+Taerk%22

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 22 November 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 24 November 2020

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JEFF SCOTT SOTO Wide Awake (In My Dreamland) (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 LAZARUS DREAM Alive (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 RONAN FURLONG The King Of Leaves (Thoroughbred Music)

Power Plays w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

L.A. GUNS All That You Are (Golden Robot Records)
THE DUST CODA Limbo Man (Earache)
IRON SAVIOR Souleater (AFM Records)
IVY GOLD This Is My Time (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply