EP review: PYLON POETS – Lucid Hallucinations

PYLON POETS – Lucid Hallucinations

Website [Release date 18.12.20]

Pylon Poets are an alt rock trio from Torquay featuring Dan Hughes (Vocals, Guitars, Synths), Sam McIver (Drums, Backing Vocals) and Nathan Hughes (Bass, Backing Vocals). This EP was recorded by Barnaby Ray at Momentum Studios in Plymouth and mixed and mastered by Josiah J Manning (Kris Barras Band, Wille and the Bandits).

All four tracks were recorded throughout 2020 with three released as singles. ‘Breathe’ was the first single to be released in March, a gentle song which does sound a tad different from the other songs on the EP.

Next up in July was ‘Abandon’ which gained radio play on Planet Rock, which with its melodic, hook filled chorus you can see why it gained airplay. The latest single ‘Rise and Call’ was released in November, the heaviest song on the EP, although the band let the guitars and synths take equal levels in the music. The synths on this one are particularly good.

Opening track ‘Reverie’ is the only one not to be released as a single, although it is planned to have an accompanying video for it come the EP’s release. A song that manages to recall the 80s synth pop era with a modern sound. Possibly the song of the EP, helped by a superb intro.

Not on the EP but do check out their guitar led version of the Human League classic ‘Don’t You Want Me’.

Pylon Poets have that certain something about them, with songs that can appeal to the younger crowd and aging rockers like this reviewer. A band to keep an eye out for next year and beyond. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 22 November.

More about Josh: http://getreadytorock.me.uk/blog/?s=%22Josh+Taerk%22

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 15 November 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 November 2020

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JEFF SCOTT SOTO Wide Awake (In My Dreamland) (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 LAZARUS DREAM Alive (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 RONAN FURLONG The King Of Leaves (Thoroughbred Music)

Power Plays w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

L.A. GUNS All That You Are (Golden Robot Records)
THE DUST CODA Limbo Man (Earache)
IRON SAVIOR Souleater (AFM Records)
IVY GOLD This Is My Time (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply