JANET SIMPSON – Safe Distance

JANET SIMPSON Safe Distance Cornelius Chapel Records [Release date 19.03.21]

Singer, songwriter, composer and multi-instrumentalist, Janet Simpson’s latest album covers many human stories and emotions from running away from demons, to retreating from your troubles, and more. It also marks the first album to go out under her name as she has previously released music as part of Delicate Cutters, Teen Getaway, Timber and toured the US and Europe as a member of Wooden Wand and the World War IV.

Joining Janet Simpson on the album are guitarist/vocalist Will Stewart (with she also fronts the band Timber with), bassist Robert Watson, and drummer Tyler McGuire.

Janet Simpson’s strength is that her songs can appeal to those outside of the country market, as she states on ‘Nashville Girls’, she is not your stereotypical country singer. In fact on the album’s closing track ‘Wrecked’ she sounds uncannily like Joni Mitchell. Other standouts include the laid back ‘Silverman’ and the title track, a mid-tempo country number featuring wonderful guitar playing from Will Stewart.

Impressive music and lyrics from Janet Simpson, who will hopefully get wider recognition she deserves with ‘Safe Distance’. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

D'ERCOLE - Hard Core

D’ERCOLE – Hard Core Rock Company Records [Release date 03.02.21]

Seventh album from D’Ercole who feature Damian D’Ercole on guitars and the man that never sleeps, Phil Vincent on vocals. ‘Hard Core’ marks the fiftieth release on the Rock Company Records label which seems fitting for a release featuring one of their most prolific artists!

The album is mastered by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, Pretty Maids) and Vince O’Regan (Vincent’s band mate in Legion) guests adding lead guitar, to what is a very heavy album overall. For proof of this the opening duo of ‘Keep It All Together’ and ‘Bad Dream’ blow the cobwebs from your speakers, a great opening salvo of riff heavy hard rock.

‘This Is Your Life’ has a neat 80’s keys riff, whilst the ballad ‘Far Away’ is pretty decent and the seven minute closing song ‘The Only One’ is a good mix of heavy riffs and harmonies. ‘Shark’ and ‘So Many Lies’ suffer a bit from the guitar assault. I love guitars but sometimes less is more!

Worth getting if you are a fan of D’Ercole/Phil Vincent, however, there is a little bit too much in the way of guitar solos at times that can detract from a song’s melody. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at www.getreadytorock.com for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply