Album review: ONE THOUSAND MOTELS – Get In Where You Fit In


Universal Music [Release date 30.04.21]

One Thousand Motels is a bit of a punk supergroup if you will, consisting of the Damned drummer Rat Scabies, and bassist/multi-instrumentalist Chris Constantinou, who has worked with Adam Ant, Sinead O’Connor, Bow Wow Wow et al. They had both previously worked together in the Mutants, who featured members drawn from various punk bands.

One Thousand Motels released their debut album, ‘2% Out Of Sync’, to rave reviews last year. Now on album number two they are joined by vocalist Sean Wheeler (Josh Homme, Robby Krieger), former Dire Straits guitarist Hal Lindes, Marc Franklin and Arthur Edmaiston from the Memphis Horns, the First Street Choir, percussionist Preston Heyman (Kate Bush, Massive Attack, Terence Trent D’Arby), harmonica player Steve “West” Weston (Roger Daltrey, Wilko Johnson), and the Specials’ horns/pianist Diz Watson.

This album has it all really, from the prison blues/gospel of ‘Spirit Flies Free’ through to the Primal Scream sounding ‘Never Forget’. Nice bit of blues piano on ‘Let Me Know’, again the distinctive gravelly vocals add to the song. The guitar solo is pretty damn fine too.

The earthy tones of Sean Wheeler can take a few spins to get used to, but he really helps lift a song like ‘Temptation’. That song swings like a good ‘un with the added horns.

Old punks never fade away, they just find new musical ways to express themselves. One Thousand Motels is great fun and I defy anyone not to be uplifted by the choral backed songs like ‘Zion’. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk Sunday 21 March 16:00 EST, 21:00 GMT

Watch again

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 14 March 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 23 March 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 GARY HUGHES Decades (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 METALITE A Virtual World (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 KAT DANSER One Eye Open (indie)

Power Plays w/c 5 April 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ALTZI Point Of No Return (RA Music)
DIRTY LACES Breathe (Golden Robot Records)
ASHEN MOON Ashen Moon (Golden Robot Records)
ANDREWW Shadow Love (indie)
JORDAN RED Freak Show (indie)
HAYES & Y Empty Orchestra (indie)
KELSEY BOVEY Another World (indie)
NEPTUNE RAIN We Breathe The Same (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply