Pixie Pace Records [Released 26.05.14]

Dublin based alt-folk band The Young Folk release their debut UK single and feature Anthony Furey (son of George from the legendary the Fureys & Davy Arthur). This song is a jaunty little number, it did remind me a little of Mumford & Sons on the chorus if being truthful. That said, The Young Folk have a kanck for penning ‘crossover’ folk that will appeal to the masses and their debut album, ‘The Little Battle’, due in August will be certainly worth investigating based on this song.  ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

AMY SIMPSON – Fairy Tales, Stories & Myths

Highly Recommended Records [Released 19.05.14]

Debut EP from Amy Simpson who is only seventeen! Listening to this five song EP and her voice you’d think she was much older. That’s not meant as a slight, more that her voice has a worldy wise feel to it. Two real corkers on here, the first is the blissful summery pop of ‘All I Wanna Do’, a sure fire hit if played on the airwaves. Then the ELO strings on ‘Glow’ are simply stupendous! Real good ‘pick me up’ song and again has a wide appeal.

I am not that well versed on modern pop singers but I’d hazard a guess that fans of Taylor Swift will enjoy this EP. The slower songs, ‘Only You’ and ‘Everything’ I am sure are set to be the soundtrack to many a teen romance (and quite possibly older folk too!). Both are more in the traditional singer/songwriter mould and each again the vocals carry the songs along.

Tuneful, talented and sure to prove a hit I am sure, Amy Simpson is definitely a singing talent to keep an eye on.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

UNISONIC – For The Kingdom (EP)

earMusic [Released 23.05.14]

Unisonic are the supergroup featuring former Helloween members Kai Hansen (Gamma Ray) and Michael Kiske, along with Pink Cream 69’s Dennis Ward, current Krokus and former Asia guitarist Mandy Meyer and drummer Kosta Zaifiriou. This EP is a taster ahead of their second full length album ‘For The Kingdom’ which is released in July.

The new album’s title track opens this six song EP and it bodes well for the upcoming album, with a big chorus, pounding drums and those distinctive vocals of Michael Kiske. Next up is ‘You Come Undone’ a song exclusive to the EP and this does sound like Gamma Ray a lot, albeit with Kiske on vocals! The rest of the EP is made up of four live songs recorded back in 2012 at the Masters Of Rock festival in the Czech Republic. Good to hear these songs played live and ‘Never Too Late’ is a belter played live. Funnily enough despite having two prominent ex-members of Helloween in the band they don’t really sound like that band, bar the vocals which you can’t really get away from. If anything Unisonic plough a more melodic metal furrow and are very good at what they do.

Nice little EP to tide the fans over until the new album arrives in July and fans will want this for the live songs. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.