DIO re-issues

Dio – Holy diver (Audio Fidelity)

Dio’s first opus, released in 1983, gets the ultimate treatment.  While Universal recently released the expanded deluxe edition as a double CD, Audio Fidelity did their own special release…

While a bit shy in extras, this release is limited to 5000 copies (numbered), with the disc layered with 24 carat gold, enhancing the sound.  The disc is brimming with warmth, the basic timbre sounding as your vinyl did, with the cymbals sounding light and crisp.

The presentation is elegant in its slipcase, but people looking for the deluxe edition may be disappointed.  This release is aimed at audiophiles, making it an essential purchase, but the deluxe edition may be required too!


Nick van der Meulen

Dio – Last in line & Sacred Heart reissues (Universal)

Dio released what can be referred to as classics of the genre in the 80’s. “Last in line” and “Sacred heart” are his second and third releases, respectively.

The remastering is well done (care of Andy Pearce, who remastered the Black Sabbath recordings for the Universal releases) and the songs sound as fresh as ever, despite being written and released in the 80’s.  “Sacred heart” is an indication of Dio’s band being more comfortable with each other and they sound tight and mature, which is why one can rate it better than “Last in line”.

Both albums are an essential purchase, however, with live tracks on the second disc: “Live at Pinkpop ‘84” features as bonus material on “Last in line”, while “Sacred Heart” contains the “Dio Intermission EP”, along with the studio track “Hide in the rainbow” (from the Iron Eagle soundtrack) as bonus material.


Nick van der Meulen

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT V – Life Motion (Intelligent Music)
12:00-13:00 HOUSE OF LORDS New World, New Eyes (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN HEMMING Broken Road (indie)

Power Plays w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

SKYFEVER Is This The End Of The World (indie)
JD SIMO One Of Those Days (Crows Feets Records)
JAMES WARREN Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (Singsong Music)
THE BLACK MOODS Sunshine (indie)
EKKO PARK All Eyes On Me (Dinner For Wolves)
LARKIN POE Holy Ghost Fire (Tricki-Woo Records)
GILBY CLARKE (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply